We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely house and furnishings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunbury Plantation House

Sunbury Plantation House
Highway 48, Barbados
246 423-6270
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$95*
and up
Barbados Rum Distilery and Afternoon Tea
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The only 17th-century plantation house in Barbados entirely open to the public.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely house and furnishings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Beautiful house will lots of antique furniture, clothes and household objects. Really loved this place.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    71
    43
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice furnishings, but more of the same”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

If you see one plantation house, you have pretty well seen them all. The house is well kept and has nice furnishing, but your time can probably be better spent on other sights unless you are into old plantation houses.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alora, Spain
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Yes it was a nice surprise.
We had decided to drive up here one Sunday afternoon on a whim.
When we arrived we were greeted with big smiles and a warm welcome.
Our guide was informative but let us wonder around at our leisure.
Whilst wondering around the lovely gardens we came across a beautiful laid out dining area which we thought was set up for a wedding only to be told that it was the setting for a Bajan buffet lunch if we would like to stay.
I will review the lunch seperately but this attraction was great and we were glad we had chosen to come here.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOTTIGHAM
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good 1/2 day trip well worth a visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Glad we took a taxi and not gone on an organised trip. We got the house to ourselves and got back to the hotel for lunch and an afternoon by the pool.

The tour guide was very informative and friendly. The house is quite small but there is plenty of nick nacks inside to see. I especcially like the plethera of vintage textiles.

I would advise that they get rid of there maniquins they are scary, tired and awful. A dress makers maniquin would be much better to allow the vintage pieces to speak for them selves.

Through away the po poure and artificial flowers they are not needed at all. Fresh flowers would be much better.

It would have been nice if we could have seen a mock up of what the slaves might have stayed in as a comparison.

I think the presentation of the optical and photographic equipment would be better off in another building so that the artifacts in the house could be spread out a bit more.

Over All glad we went and I enjoyed it but presentation need working on.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Informative and enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Interesting History and a great Buffet lunch!A guide takes you on a tour around the house and gives you all the history of the place.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunbury Plantation House also viewed

Saint Joseph Parish, Barbados
Saint Thomas Parish, Barbados
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 

Been to Sunbury Plantation House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunbury Plantation House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.