We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch was pathetic” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sunbury Plantation House

Sunbury Plantation House
6 Cross Rd, Barbados
246-423 6270
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Nyack, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Lunch was pathetic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Let me start by saying that my wife and I have gone to Fisherpond Great House which was also a plantation house and inside its beautiful building, wonderful food is served. On to Sunbury Plantation House which I will compare to Fisherpond. Wait a second...there is no comparison! The food at Sunbury is served outdoors in a courtyard. The selection of food pales in comparison to Fisherpond. The tables and chairs are all white plastic and the buffet lunch had mediocre food at best. At Fisherpond, you get to see the inside of the building without having to pay extra and the delicious food is served in that setting, not outdoors on inexpensive plastic tables and chairs. It took us a long time to find Sunbury as the signs for this place are far and few between. We were so frustrated in getting lost and then upset by eating in a disappointing setting that we never bothered to go inside the building. One final note: don't bother to make a reservation as you don't need one. You just sit anywhere you please and they don't even ask if you had a reservation.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    34
    11
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Barbados
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Robbery”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Its just what it is an old plantation house made only for tours . How ever me and my friends booked here for a lunch and was told if was buffet eat all you want , when i got there i was surprised and the little bit of food i saw , then to find out that i can not take of my own food which was very disappointing after paying so much money , i would say the food have good taste and flavor to it , how ever the dessert was not one the beast to choose from ice cream that was off the fridge and i little small slice of cake that had no taste .The surrounds of the place needs serious attention this place is very old and run down , i don't think it is fit to be serving food at this house at all .

I would not recommend any one to go here for lunch of dinner .

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

In such a beautiful setting we were hoping for something special, but it was not to be. The lunch buffet they were setting up seemed incongruous given that apart from us there was just a family of four but it was just noon. We decided to go a la carte and the menu we were given had a number of appealing options. Unable to decide, we went for the combo starter to share and thought we'd decide from there whether to go mains and deserts (and make it our main meal of the day) or just deserts. In the end we did neither.
The combo took an age to come, during which time several coach parties arrived and started filling the place. The reason for the buffet style industrial catering was now clear, but we still had high hopes for our a la carte selection since they also do expensive dinners in the dining room of the plantation house several times a week.
Sadly it wasn't worth the wait. The vegetable samosas were nice but the greasy potato skins with cheese and bacon bits, 3 scrawny chicken wings and fish cakes that were almost entirely potato and batter were not; and as for the promised accompanying selection of dips: after repeated enquiries we were eventually presented with some sachets of ketchup and a bowl of barbecue sauce!
We cut our losses and left.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breitenfurt
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Old fashioned planter´s estate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Located on the H4B, north of Sunbury, a planter´s estate. Good food and “all u can eat buffet” in a lovely atmosphere, very polite personnel. Surrounding park with big old trees, the house itself van be visited for a surcharge. There are not many other restaurants in the vicinity

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley in Arden, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovli relaxing few hours set in lush green surroundings. We took big apple taxi a really nice guy from west coast to st Philips and he waited till we had toured and lunched before taking us home. Buffet lunch very tasty and included soup desserts and coffee for £10. Recommended

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunbury Plantation House also viewed

Saint Philip Parish, Barbados
Saint Philip Parish, Barbados
 
Saint Philip Parish, Barbados
Saint Philip Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Sunbury Plantation House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunbury Plantation House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.