We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highgate Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newtown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Highgate Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Highgate Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Highgate, Bettws Cedewain, Newtown SY16 3LF, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Newtown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An absolute gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Just back from a 2 day stay at Highgate where we held our annual staff gathering. What a find! Highgate Farm is just superb, the accommodation is beautiful, converted barns finished to a really high standard, modern, cosy and stylish. Set in a stunning rural location with immaculate grounds. The service offered by our hosts was equally warm and excellent and both breakfast and dinner were lovely. I stayed in the Milk Stand cottage which would suit families or couples travelling together. This cottage is not suitable for disabled users but there is other accomodation available which would suit disabled users including wheelchair users. Highly recommend for anyone travelling to this lovely part of the world. I'll definitely be back for a longer stay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighgateAccomodation, Owner at Highgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
We were delighted and honoured to have members from City Farms and Gardens from all over the U.K. Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review, we endeavour at all times to offer good quality accommodation of an individual nature and strive for a high standard at all times. Your business was much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
31
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleethorpes, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed for one night on the way home from Cornwall and wished we had been there all week.
Beautiful Hotel excellent manager who could not do enough for you and the food decor and ambience was out of this world. Would highly recommend this as an ideal place to stay, particularly if you are on a romantic break away (without the kids!!)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighgateAccomodation, Owner at Highgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Highgate and look forward to welcoming you back, we try to make stays as enjoyable and individual as possible, farmhouse B. & B.'s are unique in many ways.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My sister gave me a weekend break voucher for my birthday and found this hotel on the website, from the first conversation on the phone to the actual first meeting the owner was welcoming and nothing was to much trouble. The hotel was something out of a Edwardian novel, from the beautiful house to the grounds to the roaring fires everything was to the highest standard. The thing I liked most was coming down to breakfast which was sumptious in itself but all the guests sat together round a large breakfast table and it was truly socialable, we discussed where we had all visited and what our plans were going to be for the day, wonderful experience and would highly reccommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighgateAccomodation, Owner at Highgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review, we are just so pleased that you had such an enjoyable time, the large farmhouse dining table is a great hit with our guests and as you say extremely sociable, interesting and entertaining. Thank you for taking the trouble to write your rewiew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at Highgate House for one night at the beginning of August 2012 and were extremely pleased with our choice. It is in a beautiful location with stunning views and the owner was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the smallest of the double bedrooms but there was still plenty of space and it was exceptionally clean. The breakfast was delicious and lots of choice. We stay in B&B's regularly and this is by far the best one that we have stayed in. I would definitely recommend staying at HIghgate House.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighgateAccomodation, Owner at Highgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Great to read you enjoyed being here, we always endeavour to cook a good breakfast and everywhere to be clean and tidy, so nice for it to be appreciated. Highgate is set is the most beautiful countryside we try to live up to natures high standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for the month of August in the B&B and the converted barns and I can recommend this place to anyone. I work and stay all over the UK and this is by far the best accommodation I've stayed in.
It's set in a beautiful surrounding with amazing views of the countryside. The converted barns are finished to a high standard complete with your every needs. The B&B is comfortable, clean and most of all comes with the best breakfast I've ever had. Sarah really knows how to make you welcome and is more than willing to help out anytime.
I would love to return again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighgateAccomodation, Owner at Highgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
The Barn conversion self catering holiday Cottages at Highgate, welcome visitors all the year round, for long or short stays, mid week, week-ends, week, or longer we try to be as adaptable as possible, the cottages are warm in winter, and have garden furniture and BBQ for summer. The Cottages and the Jacobean farmhouse B. & B, are all amidst the most beautiful mid-Wales countryside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Highgate House is one of the nicest B & B's I have had the pleasure of staying in. The room was lovely very quaint, with beams, fireplace etc. The owner Sarah was lovely so helpful. If you want peace and quiet book this place. Sarah recommended a lovely restaraunt in Newtown, Mirrans, served wonderful steaks, a real treat. Breakfast delicious didn't want to leave was so chilled. Visited 3 national trust properties in 2 days loved all of them. Would book Highgate again and again.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed equally lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighgateAccomodation, Owner at Highgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you very much for writing such a complimetary report, we always endeavour to help our guests find and visit as many of our first class beautiful attractions here in mid-Wales, Newtown is only a very small and really quite old fashioned little market town but does have some superb eating houses, which Mirrens is definately one of them. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and ofcourse you will be most welcome to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Highgate Bed & Breakfast very much. The rooms were clean and we had a great view of the surrounding countryside. Because it was out on a farm, it was also very peaceful. The hosts were very helpful for any of our needs. The breakfast was delicious. We would not even think twice to stay with them again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighgateAccomodation, Owner at Highgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Always a very warm welcome here for returning guests - look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Highgate Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highgate Bed & Breakfast

Address: Highgate, Bettws Cedewain, Newtown SY16 3LF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Newtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Newtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highgate Farmhouse bed and breakfast, luxury holiday cottages and accommodation in Newtown, Mid Wales and also provides great access for Welshpool, Montgomery, Llanidloes, Powis, Powys, Montgomeryshire and surrounding areas of Mid Wales. Chris and Sarah Smith welcome you to Highgate bed and breakfast, luxury holiday cottages and accommodation set in Newtown, Mid Wales. This lovely black-and-white farmhouse is set in the rolling Mid Wales hills. Our home is a 17th century listed building, and was once part of the Gregynog Estate. Lying east of the Cambrian Mountains in the old county of Montgomeryshire, three miles from Newtown on the Tregynon road. Our bed and breakfast, luxury holiday cottages and accommodation are located close to the source of River Severn, the area is rich in stunning landscape and is one of the most beautiful parts of Wales. This is land steeped in history and culture, a place where time has stood still. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highgate Bed & Breakfast Newtown, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highgate Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.