We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Elephant & Castle Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newtown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Elephant & Castle Hotel
Save
You added The Elephant & Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Broad Street, Newtown SY16 2BQ , Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 18 Newtown B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great position”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in the bothy, our room was fine on the ground floor, shower room a little small but servicable, shower power excellent, we stayed there with family and friends for a wedding and occupied 5 rooms. One was disappointing as no wardrobe. The others though dated we're clean and though I hate the word.... Characterful..! One room shower didn't work but was soon put right when reported. Staff very friendly, especially the chef who stayed overnight in the bothy due to a late night function, well cooked breakfast. I will advise that bothy is quieter than main hotel. Stay here if visiting mid Wales as plenty do do on evenings and nice location to explore

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    25
    21
    17
    9
See reviews for
18
22
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

A two night stay with family and friends for a wedding nearby. Great location to explore the lovely little town which has everything you would need for a short break. Stayed in the Bothy rooms across the car park from the main hotel which were not refurbished. Quaint and adequate. Well furnished. Bathrooms were dated but it was nice to have a bath. Hot water very plentiful. Giant towels which would have wrapped around me twice. Not over generous with complimentary soap etc and not enough sugar with the coffee and tea. The hotel offers a very relaxed, informal atmosphere with a very pleasant garden area down the steps from the main dining room. Not really good for anyone with mobility issues but the main hotel has a lift. Views from the dining room overlooking the Severn - stunning. A nice hotel to relax in and around - river walk right at the side, quaint church next door with gardens and benches. Adequate parking facilities. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms in The Bothy for anyone with mobility issues. The stairs are steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were visiting Newtown and required a one nights stay. This hotels location was ideal for us and I viewed the previous comments posted and had mixed feelings about the hotel. Booked it and arrived to a friendly greeting... given directions to our room which overlooked the car park. The room was compact and comfy with nice decor. The bathroom was on the small side but no real probs...needed towel hooks and somewhere to put your showering gels when in the shower.The breakfast was 'top notch' freshly cooked and promptly served in a really nice room overlooking the river. The staff were excellent. Would stay again without any hesitation.

Room Tip: For a quiet nights sleep at the weekend I would opt for a room not overlooking the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed two nights in the hotel, a Monday and Tuesday night, in a refurbished room immediately above the entrance to the bar on Broad Street and almost opposite the cinema / night Club called "Crystals". It was quiet, although it may not be so on a Friday or Saturday night. We know Newtown pretty well, but we are unsure if it is still a relatively quiet, formerly market town, place. We had a warm welcome from the lassies on Reception, who work extremely hard. One of them worked until after 11 p.m. our first evening there in the bar and she had already started her breakfast shift when we rolled down to eat!

Our room was clean and comfortable. But ... yes, there are a few "buts". In addition to a double bed, the room also contained a single bed placed beneath the window, which overlooked the cinema. At its foot there was a double wardrobe which was difficult to use as the doors could not be opened properly. There was no mirror in the room; there were no towel hooks; the kettle had to be manoeuvred carefully under the tap in the bathroom to obtain water for a hot drink; only one light worked on the bathroom mirror; don't think a fan had been installed in the bathroom so it was very hot and airless after having a shower; the room had no fan or air conditioning so it was hot and stuffy overnight - we left the window overlooking the main street open overnight, (mind you a skilled gymnast would only be able to get into the outside of the room!!); so a possible security risk; there were no health and safety / fire instructions indicating a point to head for if there is a fire etc.; the TV was positioned in the top right hand corner of the room and two controls were needed to operate it - frustrating for my spouse; the toilet clunked questionably when the cistern had filled; finally the bedside light switches were placed in between the single and the double bed and by the door - tricky. The room's window is single-glazed, so we were wondering how warm this room would be during the winter? Mmmm! Is it a listed buildin?

The question is, would we stay there again? Perhaps, if the "buts" were rectified but only for a short period of time; maybe some of the "buts" have been already been dealt with. The room was expensive; you are supposed to get what you pay for - we don't really think we did.

The hotel has a a good location in Newtown; it needs tweaking to be competitive with other hotels outside the town which do and have provided us with what we paid for. It has potential. In the words of an old teacher, "Could do better".

Room Tip: Find out the actual location of the room you are potentially being offered and ask lots of questions...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed for one night whilst in the area on business. The Hotel only had a refurbished riverside room available at £100 (single occupancy) which I thought was a little overpriced. The room was comfortable, as was the bed. The bathroom was well appointed and modern. The only irritants were the 3-legged stool at the dressing table (hopeless for working on a laptop) and the bathroom fan which had a mind of its own and was very noisy when on. On mentioning this at checkout, located in a rather soulless reception area, I was advised that the fan was linked (electrically) to the room next door, so when the occupant of that room used the bathroom, both fans were activated. Maybe the electrician should come back in!

Breakfast was average, but cooked to order. I decided not to use the bar of the hotel for an evening meal, but instead used a nearby Indian restaurant (Gushan) which was excellent.

In sum, the hotel felt as if it was in search of an identity. I would stay again, but only if less than what I paid that night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the newly refurbished rooms, and found them very clean, fresh and spacious.
Just a few niggles, the TV was awkward to use as 2 controls were required. No mirror close enough to use when using hairdryer.
Shelf too close to sink unit which I nearly hit when cleaning my teeth.
I must mention Gemma on reception, who couldn't have been more helpful !!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed for one night, had a room with a river view, nice but overpriced. We were greeted by the Manager who does need to get a bit of personality, few electrical hiccups, only one out of 3 radiators worked, we asked him if the radiators were working and he said you have to leave the card in the slot, still only one worked! TV only had one channel until somebody else changed the channel think it was on sky. Fan in the bathroom only worked when you flushed the toilet and also the light over the shower didn't work! Decor was tastefully done, didn't eat in the restaurant as nothing on the menu that appealed to us, ate in the pub which was typical pub grub. Cost £120 for the room with breakfast. Didn't fancy any of the other rooms that were available as overlooked the main street or the carpark. Laura Ashley Decor in bedrooms. A bit of assistance to the rooms and making sure that everything was working would not go a miss.

Room Tip: River View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Elephant & Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant & Castle Hotel

Address: Broad Street, Newtown SY16 2BQ , Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Newtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Newtown
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
The Elephant & Castle Hotel Newtown, Wales
The Elephant And Castle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Elephant & Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.