We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westminster Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Westminster Hotel to your Saves list
Westminster Hotel
11-12 East Parade, Rhyl LL18 3AH, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Rhyl
Shropshire, England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

On arrival, we were told we had been upgraded to a seaview room (free) so started our stay on a very positive note. Our room had everything we needed and was a good size with a double and single bed. Everywhere was clean and tidy, the bathroom was also a good size. The hotel is dog friendly so we took one! if he could write the review it would be an excellent one, mainly due to the fact the sea is right opposite the hotel and he loved his walks on the beach. The hotel was busy with coach parties in but it didn't affect us. Breakfast went smoothly and was enjoyable. We didn't eat other meals in the hotel as found a 2 for 1 pub about 3 miles away and ate there in the evenings. We always managed to park in the hotel car park that is small, and I can imagine it being a problem at the height of the season. This hotel is 24hrs reception and we enjoyed our chats with the porter after the last walk of the day where we had a nightcap before retiring. We found all the staff friendly and helpful and the break was just what my daughter and I needed after a stressful time. I would definately go there again.

Room Tip: Try for a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    108
    76
    44
    60
See reviews for
54
117
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff wales
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here on a 3 night groupon deal which should have been £89 for the 3 nights.

On arrival at the hotel we were met by the owner who informed us that we owed £30 for the upgrade!! I asked what upgrade and apparently I was informed in an email attachment which I could not open so knew nothing about.
I was then informed that the hotel was fully booked and that was the only room available well in normal circumstances any other hotel would have not charged for the upgrade.

Anyway when we got to the room we were glad of the upgrade as if this is their upgraded rooms I would dread to think what their standard rooms are like.

The windows are filthy the finishing to the room are very poor. Example headboard screwed to the wall with the screw heads showing.,shaving light in the bathroom not tiled around properly done out very cheaply.

The beds were very clean though and the staff friendly.
The owner needs to go on a hospitality course in how to approach guests. If she didn't have the coach parties going there it would be empty.

The breakfast was ok didn't eat there in the evenings or drink there as they are overpriced for what you get.

There is a sign as you go into the hotel saying. The Westminster hotel, the last word in luxury. Well that sign certainly don't belong in this hotel.

Would not stay again.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can. As the standard would be dire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Although there were three coach loads of people staying at the same time the service was good. Our room was large, comfortable and clean with plenty of hot water. Heating wasn't so good the first couple of days but did improve as the weather was sunny but very cold and windy. Food was good especially the breakfast. The biggest problem was the price of drinks at the bar and even though there was entertainment on 3 nights we went elsewhere for drinks first at a much cheaper price. The fire alarm went off just as we were getting ready for dinner but it was soon dealt with. Pity none of the sea front amusements were open and the shopping area is looking a little jaded.

Room Tip: Our room 16 was on the side of hotel so got a lot of sun during the day. Noticed the sea view rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I usually take the bad reviews with a piece of salt and wait untill I have experienced the place first but i have to eat my hat, because all the bad reviews were correct , this hotel in there booklet says it is a premier hotel of the area , well if this is so then I won't be visiting rhyl ever again , we were out in room 41 on the second floor with a so called sea view over the wall of the shopping centre, the room was still decorated in dirty wood chip paper the door was battered in in two places and when the window was propped open the door kept opening , they diddnt believe in health and safety either as the main light which is usually in the centre of the ceiling was on the side of the wall it was a tube light which was uncovered and when you went passed it to get in to the bed you could have burned yourself on it we diddnt like using it. They charged top prices for poor quality they diddnt even change the table cloths, my husband spilt coffee on the breakfast table , on the first morning it was still the same cloth this morning when we went down for breakfast . I would not recommend this so called premier hotel of rhyl to anyone go to a bed and breakfast it would be cleaner and better maintained this hotel could do with a total refurb as soon as possible especially the bedrooms , downstairs in the bar and dining room have been cleaned up pity when you go upstairs that it all changes

Room Tip: Ask for one of their premier rooms that have been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

had to stay in rhyl for a birthday party.the hotel staff I found to be friendly and helpful .we stayed two nights room was clean and fresh although perhaps net's in a four poster Bed a bit much but if I was forced to go to rhyl again happily stay here

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hotel has had everything said about it, tired, needs refurbishment, but you get what you pay for, we were on a KGB deal and paid extra for a sea view room. the room was lovely, spotlessly clean and very comfortable, considering there were 2 coach parties in it was very quiet. breakfast was very nice, bit disappointed that you couldn't go to buffet counter and select own food or that there were no continental style food available, i don;t always want a cooked breakfast, but what food they served was hot and tasty. staff were very friendly and helpful. We had trouble with our tv which was sorted immediately, BBC reception wasn't available, no fault of the hotel so save moaning about this, did anyone ask reception why this problem was ongoing?? the bar prices are very reasonable, bottle of wine for £8, not many hotels can give you that sort of price. it would be lovely to hear that the owners of this hotel would put money into doing this hotel up, it would be well worth it, inside and out, clean the windows, nice net curtains and tidy up car park area. Still if i had the same room again i would return.

Room Tip: Choose a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Have just had a four night stay in this hotel. Our room was very good with ample bathroom. Food was good with plenty of choice, and staff were friendly and obliging. Rhyl not bad but needs a lot of money spent on it, lovely sands. Our coach trip was for Little Trains of N. Wales
+

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westminster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westminster Hotel

Address: 11-12 East Parade, Rhyl LL18 3AH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Rhyl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Rhyl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Westminster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Rhyl, North Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westminster Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.