We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westminster Hotel

Save Saved
You added Westminster Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Westminster Hotel
11-12 East Parade, Rhyl LL18 3AH, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Rhyl
gateshead
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Cold Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Went on a coach trip with my partner for his 50th for 5 days. The hotel is nice and clean, room was clean apart from the chair had stains on. The bathroom was quite clean. Cleaners came in every day made beds filled up tea and coffee. The staff were very friendly and very helpful, the management were not helpfull very miserable at times i had ask if they could put the heating on as it was very cold in the bar they told me to put a jumper on as i had a thin top on then said the heating is on a timer my partner had to put his jacket on to keep warm. Food wasnt that nice, very small portions went out to a pub on the 2nd night instead of eating at hotel, Breakfast was nice and filling. Entertainment good even better on the last night was a wife and husband very enertaining very funny.Drinks in bar were expensive. £3.70 for a pint of beer wine from £10/13 for a bottle. Rhyl its self is ok a few shops but a bit of a dump. Seafront is ok for a stroll.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    98
    69
    40
    58
See reviews for
44
104
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

When we arrived the hotel looked run down with paint peeling off the walls and scaffolding along the side of the hotel with no apparent work going on. We went up to our room via the stairs as the lift was only tiny and there always seemed to be a queue,not ideal for many older people or anyone with disabilities. We entered the room to be met by an awful smell a mixture of mustiness and excessive use of air freshener,we openend the window at once and kept it open during the three nights we stayed. It was only when we openend the window that we realised that a sea mist had not descended as the window was so dirty. The bedroom furniture was old,cheap and starting to fall apart and the bathroom was in a dire need of an update,and that is being kind. We thought about asking to be moved but as there were two coach loads of people in and we were to be out all day and also only staying for three nights so we decided against it. The only thing in the rooms favour was that the towels and sheets did appear to be clean. We did mention our dissapointment to our tour manager though. The food was poor,low quality,cheapest supermarket type fare. The portions were small and instead of rolls on the table at dinner you were asked if you wanted a slice of bread. If anyone wanted tartare or horseradish sauce you have to ask for it. Some of the staff were friendly,especially some of the waitresses whom are probably casual workers. Some of the permanent staff seem to think that the visitors are an inconvinience and this shows in their attitude and appearance. The prices in the bar are too high, £3-70 for a pint of normal bitter is in these surroundings is too much. People would be better off to to go to Wetherspoons,about five minutes walk away and pay only £1-70 for the the same beer. Our tour was enjoyable in so much as we met some lovely people and went to some nice places,but I would not stay at The Westminster Hotel,Rhyl if you said that it would be free.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

came to this hotel on a coach trip Monday to Friday . the room was very small and the en-suit for just a broom cupboard had to leave door open as there was no room to get dry , and when on the toilet had to stand to clean yourself otherwise you hit your head on the sink. if you know what I mean.....not very nice at all there were no hooks to towels and nowhere to put toiletries, The window was held open with a piece of wood the bed was right next to the window so even when we managed to get the window shut there was an inch gap causing quite a draft. The food was awful frozen veg and just two roast and two boiled potato each the best thing was the soup. But the staff were great and very helpful. we wont be going back to this hotel....

Room Tip: Don't get room 22.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I came to stay here on a coach trip, and what a dump. The rooms don't have telephones (well, it is a 2 star hotel), the TV in my room could only get BBC1 due to poor signal strength, the windows wouldn't open in my room - they had been painted shut! - meant I couldn't sleep due to the hot weather during my stay. The room only had 2 electrical sockets - one for the TV and one for the kettle, meaning I had to take a lot of time trying to charge up my mobile phone, digital camera, and if I had had my laptop with me, well, it wouldn't have mattered, as no wi-fi available in hotel, which as it clearly doesn't cater for business people. Well what more can I say about this hotel apart from the place is a dump, and not to be recommended. The staff on reception were extremely rude and refused to listen when I attempted to explain the problems I was having with my room. They clearly aren't intending on making any much needed improvements.

Room Tip: No pool. All rooms are poor quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

had 4 nights from 28th may and left on 1st june . found 2 fantastic boys that do bar and dining room . andy and ian , were brilliant . ian toured the streets to try and get me cans of diet irn bru , sadly he didn't manage to find them . i did'nt want to hurt his feelings and tell him the coop had big bottles. we were on a coach tour and had my b/day when we were there. well all i can say is a massive thank you to the people and new friends we met . my hubby and i went down for breakfast and i was emotional when the dining room erupted with happy b/ day ,then went for dinner and there was balloons and banners everywhere . to get back to the review i found the meals to be very small portions and breakfast was very poor compared to any other hotel we've visited. carpets very dirty on stairs , room was very average but because it was my b/day we had a fabulous time , thanks to the passengers on the david urquart coach.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Staff very friendly and helpful, clean and good evening entertainment. Lift too small for size of hotel as can only fit 2 persons comfortably, the showers need updating and electric ones fitting as it takes 10 mins to get the temperature right and you have to use the basin taps to help control this. Food is basic and ok for short breaks. We were on a cheap package coach tour using this hotel to stay at and for the budget price it is good.

Room Tip: try to get a room as close to ground level as possible due to the slowness and size of lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

On coach trip, hotel was OK. Food pretty good but not a great variety. Lift very small, so expect delays if you are not good at stairs. Please owners fit electric showers. Mixer tap showers are very difficult to control temperature.The staff were very friendly, especially in the restaurant. HOWEVER, entertainment in the evening was OK but not very many people saw it, as drinks in bar were expensive. £3-70 for a pint of beer!!!!!. Better to go to Wetherspoons around the corner.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westminster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westminster Hotel

Address: 11-12 East Parade, Rhyl LL18 3AH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Rhyl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Rhyl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Westminster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Rhyl, North Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westminster Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.