We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CLOSED FOR GOOD” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rhyl Sun Centre - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rhyl Sun Centre
East Parade, Rhyl LL18 3AQ, Wales
01745 344433
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Water Parks, Amusement Parks
Attraction details
Llansanffraid Glan Conwy, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“CLOSED FOR GOOD”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

The Sun Centre recently closed down and following a subsequent inspection by Denbighshire Council it's been decided it will cost too much to do the necessary repairs to bring it back up to standard so it's closed for good. No doubt it will still cost a few quid to decontaminate the site after it's been demolished.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    5
    10
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Could be better ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This place needs a re vamp desperately my son had a great time here but it pre dates health and safety its very slippery and the steps from the pool going into the changing rooms stink sewerage like mixed with chemicals and the changing rooms are a joke the lockers are tiny! ! Not ideal if you have a big bag youd need two lockers and only one fold down baby change by the entrance to the changing rooms area which couldn't be a worse place as people push and rush through and your literally struggling to change your child, and not enough showers for the amount of people in the place so there was always a long cue on a plus note there was a lovely lady member of staff who was around the changing area who saw i was struggling carrying my baby and trying to put my belongings in a tiny locker who offered to help thank you! I wish there was more people like this!. eateries I didn't bother with as id prepared a packed lunch but the little gift shop very overpriced as I said my son loved it but as an adult you see things a child dosent and I won't be returning anytime soon unless theres a vast improvement on cleanliness and safety

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Great for scientists, rubbish for everyone else”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

As a Scientist of some renown this place was absolutely fascinating. After traversing a wild and foreboding land, know as Rhyl to locals, we emerged at this strange glass structure that was reminiscent of a giant greenhouse. Further investigation entailed and led us to the entrance. Strange, evils smells emitted constantly from the interior- the source may have been the armpits of the bored teenage tender. After parting with nigh on £40 we then entered the territory known as ....the changing room. Here all applied science could be turned upside down! How could so many people NOT catch a fatal disease with so many pitfalls around? We survived the cigarette and condom plastered floor and the saliva and chewing gum stained lockers before bring greeted by the pre-swim showers of death! As a conscientious chemistry loving buffoon I had cleverly packed some litmus paper to take with me on holiday. Held under the pre swim showers the paper turned a bright red, proving my theory that these showers were extremely acidic....just like the tongue of the other bored teenager on the other side.

The interior was a strange place, full of slides that there were when I was young. Yup, same slides, same monorails, same strange hazardous gunge floating in the waters. How Science has advanced in this place! Yet people swam, open mouthed, face to face with the threat of Ebola!

Dinner time I felt in need of a protein pick me up and so ordered a beef burger. The young lady obviously confused "beef burger please" with " cook me something resembling an animal carcass for the least amount of time possible with extra toppings of salmonella and E. coli".

I left this place completely bewildered. I am now convinced that when the Zombie Apocalypse does take hold, it's origins will be in Rhyl and not in Georgia as those heathens who wrote The Walking Dead would suggest........

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Don't bother!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

What a dirty, smelly, horribly overprice rip off. Don't waste your money! At over £40 to get in ( non swimmers are charged too). Overpowering smell of chlorine, food and god knows what, this place is in DESPERATE need of a good clean! Poor health and safety, poor hygiene, uninterested teenage staff. Broken tiles, dirty changing rooms and toilets, pool is manky.
Make sure you've had a tetanus jab before you go near this place.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Avoid if you are used to clean/modern”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I used to visit as a child in the 80s and apart from the slides nothings changed!
I have to agree with others about poor cleanliness and the general run down look of the place!

I took my 4 year old boy who enjoyed it but that's a child for you. As an adult it's hard to overlook mould,broken tiles, filthy toilets, damaged lockers etc.
Staff all appear disinterested in safety and surely there should be a safer queuing system for the slides?

loads of people on the stairs up to slide pushing and shoving and big gaps a small unsupervised child (and there were plenty) could fall through. Edges of steps repaired with gaffer tape! ?!

This place is in DESPERATE need of modernisation and staff training but as they are happily making nearly £9 per visitor it's unlikely.

Please avoid wasting money here unless you don't care and just want to leave your kids to run riot unsupervised whilst you sit on cheap plastic furniture eating poor quality food.

Oh and thanks to the adult who left his dirty underwear in the family changing room for us !!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rhyl Sun Centre also viewed

Rhyl, Denbighshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rhyl Sun Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.