We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely ride into the mountains” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ffestiniog & Welsh Highland Railways

Ffestiniog & Welsh Highland Railways
Snowdonia National Park, Porthmadog LL49 9NF, Wales
+44 1766 516000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Attractions in Porthmadog
Type: Scenic Railroads, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Ffestiniog Railway takes you on a 13 1/2-mile journey from the harbour in Porthmadog to the slate-quarrying town of Blaenau Ffestiniog. We are recognised by the Guinness Book of World Records as the oldest railway company in the world, being founded in 1832. We still build steam locomotives and carriages in our own workshops and the world's oldest steam engine, Prince, is still in regular use today - more than 150 years after it was built. Our historic trains climb over 700 feet from sea level into the mountains through tranquil pastures and magnificent forests, past lakes and waterfalls, round horseshoe bends (even a complete spiral) clinging to the side of the mountain or tunnelling through it. The Welsh Highland is Snowdonia's newest railway. Trains start their spectacular 25 mile scenic journey from beneath the historic castle walls at Caernarfon. The trains - hauled by the world's most powerful narrow gauge steam locomotives - climb from sea level to over 650 feet on the foothills of Snowdon, before zig-zagging dramatically down the steep hillside to reach Beddgelert, nestling in the heart of the National Park, then through the magnificent Aberglaslyn Pass - voted the most beautiful spot in the UK by the National Trust - and on to Porthmadog.
portsmouth
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely ride into the mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Great steam train ride from the coast to the slate quarries. Friendly staff on board and good facilities at the stops. About an hour each way.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    639
    172
    32
    12
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Top narrow gauge railways.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Great fun - took us back to our youth! Tip = book early and pay the extra to get seats in the Observation Car. Well worth the money!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience - not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Both railways are absolutely brilliant for scenery and overall experience. The staff are excellent and the trains matchless!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“Brilliant train ride, but........”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Prices reasonable and the train journey is just amazing, stunning scenery. Now the negative, was not impressed with wheelchair access. From what I could see, there was no specific spaces for passengers who have to travel in a wheelchair, train was busy and there were other wheelchair users, but my wife was stuck in a gangway, in a carriage that seemed to have been reserved by a group. Was pretty unimpressed, as were the party who clearly felt we were intruding. She felt more like an intruder than a customer, and with only a minimal discount, not good value. Caught bus back, and that was also interesting, bus driver with zero awareness of disability issues!
Good journey, but need far more consideration of wheelchair users.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrSpinola, Public Relations Manager at Ffestiniog & Welsh Highland Railways, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thanks for your post, John. Could you let me know if you travelled on the Ffestiniog or Welsh Highland Railways and where you joined the train?

All our regular services have spaces for wheelchairs with fold-down seats enabling wheelchair users to sit with their families and friends. Only our heritage carriages do not have wheelchair access. All major stations have level access and train crews will assist with getting wheelchairs on and off the trains.

You can read our access statement on our website at www.festrail.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Had a few days break and after many trips to the area did this trip for first time with my wife and grandson who is train mad. The views on the journey are absolutely fantastic as it was a clear and sunny day, there are snacks and drinks available on the train which was good and the service good. Theres a couple of stops where you can get off and see the surrounding area before getting the next train a short stop at the end of the line before returning. There is an excellent souvenir shop and cafe at Porthmadog all in all a good day and a very excited grandson

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ffestiniog & Welsh Highland Railways also viewed

 
Snowdonia National Park, North Wales
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 

Been to Ffestiniog & Welsh Highland Railways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ffestiniog & Welsh Highland Railways, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.