We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Place To Stay In Porthmadog” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sportsman Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Sportsman Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Sportsman Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   131 High Street, Porthmadog LL49 9HB, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Minehead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Good Place To Stay In Porthmadog”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

I've just spent the last week in Porthmadog to ride on the now fully opened Welsh Highland Railway.

I stayed in the Royal Sportsman Hotel for four nights on a room only basis.

I found the staff very helpful the premises was very clean and inviting and the public rooms very comfortable.

My room was very comfortable was well furnished heated and the bed was extremely comfortable, the only slight downer was the WC/shower which was a little dated but I understand from the manager that all the single rooms are having these new units installed

I'd definitely return but I would go on a tariff which includes Breakfast.

Nice to go to a characterful hotel

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    159
    53
    20
    14
See reviews for
55
202
30
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for a weekend. Excellent value for money and wonderful food.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

This was my first time at the Royal Sportsman but I feel it won't be the last.

On first sight you'd be forgiven for thinking the building has a 'public house' style of appearance but don't let that fool you. Its a well established hotel with a very strong history.

Its location was ideal for visiting the local area. The room was warm and delightful and very generous in space. If I had any reservation at all it was that the pillows were a little unforgiving but that it very much a personal experience. Overall we were impressed by the cleanliness and the decor although in fairness the room had recently been renovated; as had other parts of the hotel.

The Food at the Royal Sportsman was impressively good. Its creativity and its presentation was as good as its taste. Portions were generous (if a little over generous for my modest needs) and service was very good indeed. We really felt we got value for money in our experience and have no hesitation in commending it others. If I could improve the experience, I would perhaps dim the dining room lights and perhaps use more colourful table candles to enhance the atmosphere but overall I was delighted to eat there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I booked 2 nights at this hotel for our 10th anniversary and it was a wonderful stay. I am a fan of Austen novels and this hotel took me back to that era. I am not saying the hotel is outdated, it has all the modern facilities you would need, what I mean is... it has still managed to keep many of the old characteristics which enabled me to easily visualise horse drawn carriages stopping at this roadside inn, and card gemes being played in the lounge area.

I booked the hotel through a wowcher deal which included a dinner allowance for both nights and free continental breakfact. On the night we arrived, we got slightly late and the kitchen has closed. But the chef kindly prepared some sandwiches for us which were more than adeqaute to fill us.

We visited Portmerion which was lovely and had dinner from the specials menu on the 2nd night. We also got a free bottle of wine since both of us ordered 3 courses and were pleasantly surprised when the bill was still very low.

I could not enjoy my dinner as much as I would have liked as I was coming down with a bug (which I have caught BEFORE coming to the hotel), so plan to go again in the summer to enjoy the wonderful food and the lovely atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

After a long journey we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of our 'deal' hotel. A warm friendly welcome, check in thorough and simple. Room cosy and comfortable, very clean with a good size en suite. The food was excellent, proceeded by a drink in the lounge complete with log fire. All staff were very good, polite, courteous and happy to oblige - with good local walking knowledge. A good size boiler room for drying wet walkwear was superb. A lovely break, highly recommended this hotel

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We thought this hotel was lovely. It was very clean considering they allow dogs, not a dog hair in sight. WE was able to eat our meals in the bar with the dog or eat in the dining room without the our dog. The bar was lovely and warm with a warming open fire, which is what we needed as it was cold. Food was excellent would recommend it to anyone. The staff were nice and welcoming. We got lots of info from them on where to go and found some lovely walks which we never been on when visited before. We will be going again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Just returned from a weekend here. There was nothing to fault. We paid a little extra for a larger ground floor room which was very good. The food was excellent and the service very friendly and efficient

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Sportsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sportsman Hotel

Address: 131 High Street, Porthmadog LL49 9HB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Porthmadog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Sportsman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very comfortable, 'home from home,' family run, full-service quality hotel, the only hotel in Porthmadog. It has been awarded 3* by the AA and Visit Wales, 2 AA Rosette for its food and included in the Good Food Guide, using the best of local Welsh suppliers. Children are welcome and particularly pets in our courtyard rooms. Ground Floor rooms also available for those with walking difficulties. Private covered parking, cycle lock up, drying room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Sportsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Sportsman
Royal Sportsman Porthmadog
Royal Sportsman Hotel Porthmadog, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sportsman Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.