We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somebody's having a laugh!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Big Rock Cafe

The Big Rock Cafe
71 High Street, Porthmadog LL49 9EU, Wales
01766 512098
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 44 Restaurants in Porthmadog
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Somebody's having a laugh!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Lovely looking cafe, all hand-written signs and wooden floor. Absolutely baffled by the quality of the food for such a popular place. I got a chilli bean wrap. The wrong thing came (falafel), was taken away by a very confused and very young waiter. When the right thing came I wished it hadn't, a cold, untoasted tortilla out of a packet, wrapped round what looked like Tesco Chilli Beans out of a tin. All cold. pathetic bit of lettuce, three crisps. Four quid. My husband had some sausage abomination that was basically a cold sausage chopped up on a skewer with some raw veg that had been waved at a flame from 20 paces. All luke warm. The promised 'hunk of bread' that was supposed to come with it never materialised. The place looked so nice that i was really looking forward to eating there but i left feeling desperately hungry, desperately disappointed and desperately ripped off. Dreadful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    37
    10
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lovely little cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We found ourselves diving into this place on a very wet day when we were desperate for something to eat.
The staff were very pleasant, the food was lovely and it was quite reasonable too.
I can't say too much about the décor because I didn't really pay attention to it. What I can say is that there are tables as you look into the shop. but what you don't see, is that there are other rooms at the back that have tables in too, so it could deceptively give the impression of being full, when infact it wasn't!.

( The kids cheese on toast was very tasty!)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brechin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Great for vegetarians and indeed anyone!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

My daughter is going thu a Joni Mitchell/Led Zeppelin/Pink Floyd/Doors/Fleetwood Mac type of stage...complete with vegetarian commitment.
Whilst on holiday, she saw this place and wanted to give it a try,to me it looked like something straight from the 70's era, i'm not making fun of it, it's a cool looking place! All that was missing was a VW Beetle or Beach Buggy parked outside.
As for giving it a try, i'm glad we did!
Great food, some unusual menu options,but something for everyone, friendly service, laid back and relaxed place.
In a word...recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Real wholesome food! - Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Popped in for the first time yesterday just for a coffee. Seeing the food being served on neighbouring tables we just had to return for lunch. I had a Falafel salad with roasted pepper and a thick wedge of their own baked bread. Loved it all! We have walked past many times over the years not realising how good it was. Not any more, this is the place to go for a satisfying meal. The Big Rock Cafe, I like your ethics , most other businesses are just profit driven and fail to realise that customer satisfaction is the key to success. You've got it right. well done!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmore, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good food, good service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

On a second visit to Porthmadog we discovered this café. The food is lovely I had a really good home baked scone, my husband had homemade rolled do-nuts and chocolate dipping sauce so good! The girls had ice cream. The staff were really nice and helpful. The whole atmosphere in the café was lovely.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Big Rock Cafe also viewed

Porthmadog, Gwynedd
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 

Been to The Big Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Big Rock Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.