We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and warm welcome in Scotland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heughmill Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Craigie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heughmill Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Heughmill Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Heughmill | Craigie by Kilmarnoch, Craigie, Kilmarnock KA1 5NQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Craigie B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and warm welcome in Scotland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

A warm and welcoming experience to stay with these charming hosts. They really make you feel like an honoured guest and the house is in a great location with pastoral views from the guest bedrooms. Breakfast first class with homemade jams. Some great local knowledge also led us to some interesting coastal walks. The owners ever called most kindly to let us know we had left a kindle behind! Lovely people.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

My son and I were touring Scotland and decided to stay at Heughmill on 6th June. We were welcomed by host Mungo and were offered refreshments. Then shown to our room which was very spacious and clean. Heughmill is in a rural setting and the views are stunning. Mungo and Julia made us very welcome and explained we could use the huge drawing room and conservatory as our own during our stay. The breakfast was quite subsrantial with plenty of choice, Mungo ia a mine of information about the local area. I would recommend Heughmill to anyone wishing to stay in or around Aryshire

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

A beautiful converted farmhouse, set in rolling countryside with panoramic views towards Ailsa Craig and the Isle of Arran. Our room was lovely, well equipped with great views out of every window.

Breakfast is served downstairs around a communal table, great for sharing stories and recommendations with fellow guests.

The owner Mungo is a great chap, very welcoming, we enjoyed his singing and dancing while he was cooking our breakfast. Quite a character!

Good value for money

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011 via mobile

Enjoyed a very comfortable stay on 27th august 2011 with Mungo & Julie, the owners of this wonderful B&B, tea on arrival in the conservatory was so welcome, the view over beautiful green fields is so spectacular, sheep & White horse down by ruined mill. Good comfy rooms with view and good breakfast too! If you are in Ayrshire this is the place to stay for peace & quiet!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We wanted to split our journey up to the north of Scotland and wanted a B&B in a country area where we could exercise our dogs after 8 hours or so in the car. This was perfect and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts who allowed us to put some stuff in the deep freeze and fridge. We dined at the local pub in Craigie and after a good breakfast were on ourt way promptly in the morning after a comfortable night's sleep.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girvan, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Pretty house with delightful garden and open outlook to farmland run by energetic and welcoming couple. Cmfortable beds and all bedrooms en suite; breakfast a feast, which sets one up for the whole day. Idealy placed for Prestwick airport and the A77 motorway between Glasgow and Ayrshire's golf courses.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

Julia and Mungo make you feel that you have been their friends for years. Sitting in the Conservatory, looking out at the horses & sheep in the meadow is about as romantic as it gets.

Our room was huge with a very comfortable bed that looked out over the meadow. The large ensuite bathroom had both a tub and a shower.

Mungo's "breakfast trough" sets you up for the whole day.

Heughmill was the highlight of our two week stay in Scotland

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Heughmill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heughmill Bed and Breakfast

Address: Heughmill | Craigie by Kilmarnoch, Craigie, Kilmarnock KA1 5NQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > Kilmarnock > Craigie
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Craigie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heughmill Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.