We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice people!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tigh Bhan Studio

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duror
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tigh Bhan Studio
Save
You added Tigh Bhan Studio to your Saves list
Cuil Bay, Duror PA38 4DA, Scotland (Formerly Tigh Bhan B&B)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Duror B&B and Inns
Fürth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed for three nights in Tigh Bhan and enjoyed our stay very much. The house is nice and cosy. The rooms are tidy and well cared. Hynal and Andy are very friendly hosts who help you wherever they can. Andy gave us good hints what to visit and helped us planning our tours. Hynal was so friendly, a real sunshine, who gave us the feeling to be really welcome at her home. The breakfast was nice and we enjoyed the company of the other guests. Andy and Hynal introduced all the guests with each other and therefore made it easy to start a conversation.
A really nice time! Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We have just enjoyed a 12-day stay at Tigh Bhan and can warmly recommend it. Hynal and Andy are warm and friendly hosts, knowledgable about the surrounding area and able to offer practical advice about walks, outings etc. Hynal even supplies a weather update for the day at breakfast each morning. During our stay we were in the family room for all but a couple of nights, and its huge and very comfortable, with an equally huge bathroom containing both bath and separate shower, and its position at the rear of the house makes it quiet and peaceful. But we also enjoyed the couple of nights we spent in the double-room upstairs, and had no complaints about the space there.

I noticed one or two other reviewers had commented about the shared breakfast table, and we were initially unsure of it, but found that we really liked it - it was lovely to chat to a variety of guests from other countries and we met some lovely people. Hynal always broke the ice by introducing everyone at at the start of breakfast - which became a social occasion that we looked forward to. The breakfast itself was always tasty, fresh and ample - in a lovely breakfast room enjoying views down to Cuil Bay.

The location of Tigh Bhan is superb, and Cuil Bay - just a few minutes walk away - is a gem and well-worth exploring. We found the location to be a perfect base for exploring north, south and west and we rarely returned to the B&B before 9pm. As a result we never actually had time to use the Lounge, but Andy and Hynal had definitely advised us it was there to be used, and pointed it out to us.

There are plenty of good places nearby to eat; Hynal is able to offer advice on all of them, and includes sample menus from some in the information pack (and also supplies discount vouchers for the nearby "Holly Tree").

In summary, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Tigh Bhan, would have no hesitation in recommending it, and we look forward to staying there again in the future.

Room Tip: The family room is ideal - quiet, spacious, and perfect for anyone who might have difficulty with st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

My wife and I spent my 72nd birthday at the Tigh Bhan. This ia a wonderful, meticulously maintained older home in a peaceful setting near Glencoe. Andy and Hynal are very gracious hosts and we left there after spending 2 nights feeling as though we had made new friends. We opted to have our evening meals there, as well, and after a great meal, Andy and Hynal joined us in the parlor for tea and a wee glass of local whiskey to toast my birthday. We spent 2 weeks touring Scotland and this place won our hearts over all of our other stays during our trip. Overall, if you're looking for a great B&B in the country, you won't be disappointed in the Tigh Bhan.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

My husband and I had the great pleasure of a night at Tigh Bhan. We booked easily online after a little research and were so happy with the choice. It was a cozy home in a less-populated region of Scotland, but still very easy to find and extremely comfortable. We had no problem following the directions to arrive at the quaint, white house and immensely enjoyed the surrounding area. The sheep across the road were enjoyable to watch as we took a little walk down to the waterfront. The home itself was bright and cheery. We had the larger room the back of the house which we found very private and quiet. The two hosts were very helpful and offered superb, informed suggestions to get around the area. We left the next morning for Skye and appreciated the historical stops that we were told to check out along the way. Overall, we really appreciated them opening their home up. It was clear that they were very happy to help and wanted us to have the best experience, not just in their home but in Scotland as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Spotlessly clean, quiet, well-maintained B&B with excellent food and comfortable rooms with ensuite bathroom. Welcoming owners - they even parked our car, since we were in the early stages of a trip and not too sure about backing into parking spaces. A real family home. Lots of places to walk for recreation nearby.

Room Tip: A main floor room was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We booked the double but somehow got the family room which was lucky. Huge room with huge bathroom which was really nice and comfortable. We had garden views, but spent most of our time down by the loch 5 minutes away taking photos of the amazing view. The breakfast was really nice and the host was really lovely and helpful. Everything was prepared, including all of the menus of the local restaurants. Wanted to stay longer

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TighBhanBandB, Owner at Tigh Bhan Studio, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
Thank you again for your comments and so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Tigh bhan and most of all you enjoyed the lovely countryside in which we are located, lookforward to your return.

Many thanks

Andy & Hynal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

This is our third time staying at the lovely and quaint Tigh Bahn, and a trip to Scotland now would not seem right without calling in to sample the genuine simple superb hospitality of owners Andy and Hynal.
They open their home to people from around the world and a read of the visitors book is testament itself to the quality of service they give to their guests.
I read complaints about cooking smells in bedrooms rising from the kitchen below, and my wife and I have been in that very bedroom each time we have stayed and can say that we have not noticed it. We have also used the lounge and these complainants are right that it is the owners own lounge. Such is the warmth of the owners that far from locking their guests away in their rooms in the evenings they open up the house so the experiences can be shared.
Obviously there are times when it is not convenient for guests to share the family lounge, but in reality we are paying for bed and breakfast, and the rooms are all well furnished with TV and DVD and books to read, which is a lot more than is provided in other similar establishments.
If you really pass muster Andy may even share a whisky with you.
So, Andy and Hynal your record speaks for itself, and there is no way we could pass by without making sure we linger a day or two to be pampered at the lovely Tigh Bahn.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TighBhanBandB, Owner at Tigh Bhan Studio, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
Thank you for your comments glad you enjoyed your stay, once again your stay was too stort lookforward to your return.

Many thanks

Andy & Hynal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tigh Bhan Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh Bhan Studio

Address: Cuil Bay, Duror PA38 4DA, Scotland (Formerly Tigh Bhan B&B)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Duror
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Duror
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andy and Hynal warmly welcome you to Tigh Bhan (White House), a charming refurbished cottage. Located in the quiet village of Duror, the Tigh Bhan is just a five minute stroll from the enchanting Cuil Bay, with its postcard perfect views and stunning sunsets. It is also ideally situated for trips to Oban, Fort William, Glencoe and the Islands. The village of Ballachulish is close by offering any amenities that you may require as well as the local tourist information centre. Tigh Bhan offers Bed & Breakfast in the main house plus, new for 2015, is Tigh Bhan Studio attached to the main house. Tigh Bhan Studio is a cool self-catering place to stay for 1-2 people. Welcome to fun and fresh accommodation located at the heart of the stunning West Coast of Scotland. The Studio is self-contained with a private entrance. It is beautifully designed with a vaulted ceiling which reveals the stars at night, a wood burning stove, bold patterned textiles, colourful furnishings, a king sized bed and warm wood effect flooring throughout. Outside it has its own private decking area for those lazy summer evenings sitting outside, relaxing, enjoying a quiet drink or even a tasty BBQ. Tigh Bhan has all you need for a romantic getaway, activity holiday or peaceful retreat! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tigh Bhan Studio Duror, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tigh Bhan Studio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.