We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonefield Castle Hotel

Save Saved
You added Stonefield Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stonefield Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loch Fyne, Tarbert PA29 6YJ , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Tarbert
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Had an absolutely fantastic stay in the Stonefield. The staff were lovely and friendly, food delicious and the room was perfect. With a roaring fire in the lobby and delightful grounds to walk around, I couldn't fault it in any way. I highly recommend this hotel and look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne M, General Manager at Stonefield Castle Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to wite a review and for telling readers how much you enjoyed your visit to Stonefield. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future. Dont forget to follow our Facebook page and catch up with all the latest news from our Castle.
Kind regards from all the staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    225
    170
    49
    21
    16
See reviews for
51
307
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We got a great deal for DBB, bottle of wine and late checkout and we then upgraded to a huge suite (28) with sleigh bed, for 2 nights last weekend. I cant speak of the other rooms but this one was really large with a seating area in the bay window area, table and chairs in the centre, separate alcove for the bed and a huge bathroom.The shower power nearly knocked me over it was brilliant, Lots of furniture in the room although some a teeny bit tired as some have said ie a handle missing here or there it just added to the character for us.

The receptionist was lovely and welcoming,and showed us around. Dinner in the restaurant and lunch in the bar was excellent especially the venison. Breakfast was good,a help yourself continental then a choice of a hot dish brought to you. Full scottish was ok but a bit bare looking in comparison to some i have seen so 2 sausages would have been better ha ha( i bet if you asked you'd get one though as staff are lovely). Yes the restaurant is an extension added on but wait til you see the panoramic views.

The views in general were spectacular and our suite had an amazing view from every single window. Drinks were not too bad at all price wise and cocktails were lovely-barman great. The resident dog fudge is friendly and often found wandering around the bar. We had some lovely long walks around the estate and as non drivers found it really accessible by coach from Glasgow 3hrs ish (stops just outside the long driveway and what a scenic journey!)

We would return and thanks everyone for a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: Room 28 is huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne M, General Manager at Stonefield Castle Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing to spend your anniversary with us and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much. Never fear, when you stay with us next time we'll make sure you have 2 sausages! Have a lovely Christmas from all the team at Stonefield!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed over Saturday and Sunday night and found the weekend a lovely experience. The staff were very pleasent and helpful the service very good . We had dinner both nights at the Hotel and the food was superb. Breakfast also very good using local produce. The room was fine and the various rooms in the hotel ie Lounge,bar, library were very old school and charming.
We will return to this hotel as we found not only the location fantastic but the hotel itself.
We also went for a walk around the island ( which the hotel owns ) which was great for a hang-over!!!
The shower in our room was fantastic so powerfull you had to hang on to the wall or you were off!!
Great stay

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed overnight with family and dog good sized room with fantastic views to the loch. Rooms and bathroom slightly dated although in keeping with the character if the building. Restaurant and bar service good and food very good living up to its awards. All staff very friendly and the open fires warm and welcoming would definitely stay again.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I stayed here for one night recently on a business trip and had a very nice night. I was shown to my room on arrival and offered a tour of the hotel. My room (9 I think?) was comfortable and warm with a large clean bathroom. The bath took seconds to fill with lots of hot water and bubbles and the beds were comfortable and came with a teddy bear to 'look after you' during your stay. Only dissapointment was the double bed was actually two singles, which always frustrates me. But I still managed to get a great nights sleep, and actually slept through my alarm. The resturant was fantastic, although my steak was well done (asked for medium well). There was a strong smell of fish, although I think that is to be expected given all the fresh fish being cooked. Amazing views and stunning grounds. Please fill the bird feeders - they were all empty and the birds are hungry!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

was on a course here which took over the hotel for a weekend. the hotel is in a great location, food is fantastic, staff lovely and could not be more helpful. 1 small issue is the dinning room, a bit soulless but the b=views were great from it.

Room Tip: try and get one at the front of the hotel in the original part of the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

It's such a shame with this hotel, as it could have so much potential. It seems that a minimum of maintenance has been carried out whilst resting on it's laurels of past glory days. Badly peeling or non existence of paint on the exterior upper windows, public rooms (although comfortable) drab and tired looking, with bedroom décor definitely in need of a make over.

The hotel is situated amongst beautiful scenery, out of the way, but not too isolated, as the village of Tarbet is only a few miles away.

Food is excellent, with breakfasts offering a very good choice ranging from porridge, fruits, yoghurts, cereals and fruit juices to traditional Scottish breakfast, smoked salmon , fish and eggs benedict. Evening meals from the table d'hote menu are also exceptionally good, but beware when ordering from the a la carte menu, as I ordered a fillet of beef steak only to be told it was not available, which I found somewhat perplexing. The bar has a good selection of malts, wines and spirits and are not overpriced. Bedrooms have tea and coffee and the usual supply of toiletries provided, and I found it pleasing that everything was replenished every day without having to contact housekeeping for more. Mattress comfort was abysmal with springs being felt no matter where one laid on the bed. Heavy quality drapes on the windows, but on one particular windy evening these were decidedly blowing about, which gives me reason to think the hotel needs to urgently invest in new windows!! Turn down service is available, but you need to ask for it and presumably every day as I only received it on one evening.

The disabled traveller may find this hotel somewhat challenging, being that although there are 10 rooms on the ground floor, only one has been specially adapted for wheelchair users with shower and low level switches etc. I can't comment on the ground floor rooms, but I was on the first floor and found that there was no emergency pull cord in the bathroom, which the less able bodied may find very disconcerting. A carpeted ramp is situated from the main reception area down to the dining room, and the bar is on one level, but from the exterior of the hotel into the hotel itself there are 2 small flight of steps with no permanent ramp, although a temporary one can be provided. Paths are not disable friendly at all, really only the car park area, but this is gravel, so this will have certain problems.

Staff were friendly without over stepping the mark so to speak, and also very courteous, but this could not really be said of the general manager who I found to be rather supercilious.

I really do like to "fly the flag for Scotland ", so to speak, but saying that I also try and give unbiased reviews. If you do decide to visit this hotel, don't expect too much as it's more in keeping with a 3+*, go with an open mind and hopefully you will not have any problems of over expectations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stonefield Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonefield Castle Hotel

Address: Loch Fyne, Tarbert PA29 6YJ , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Tarbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Tarbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonefield Castle Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stonefield Castle Hotel is an outstanding example of Scottish baronial architecture. Built in 1837, the Castle stands high on the famous Kintyre peninsula, commanding spectacular panoramic views over Loch Fyne. In keeping with its unique location and character, many of the original period furnishings have been retained to complement the timeless ambience that is Stonefield Castle. Guests can relax in the traditional elegance of wood panelled lounges with fine corniced ceilings, unwind on leisurely walks through the sixty acres of woodland grounds, or simply enjoy a leisurely pace of life far removed from the stress of city living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Stonefield Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonefield Castle Tarbert
Hotel Stonefield Castle
Stonefield Castle Hotel Tarbert, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonefield Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.