We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Starfish Restaurant

Starfish Restaurant
Castle st | Tarbert, Tarbert PPA29 6UH, Scotland
01880820733
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 restaurants in Tarbert
Price range: $24 - $33
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Fresh Scottish Seafood, simply cooked and presented, reasonably priced, served in a relaxed atmosphere. Hearty soups, homemade bread, delicious coffee and tasty homebaking.
Barton under Needwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had lunch at Starfish and all agreed that we had enjoyed some of the very best seafood we had ever eaten.
The restaurant has a great feel, we had very good service and great food.
We were renting a holiday house close by and had engaged the chef to prepare a special occasion meal at the house and that dinner lived up to the quality we had enjoyed in the restaurant.
A must visit restaurant!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    192
    29
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
“Starfish Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

What a fantastic restaurant in the lovely village of Tarbert. Great atmosphere made to feel so welcome by the lovely lady.Wish we knew her name.So happy at her work The food was amazing local produce so flavoursome,presentation excellent. .The best meal we have had in a long time. Well done Chef. We will be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This restaurant really has to be visited to appreciate the fine dining it delivers to its customers. We were very lucky to sample the delightful food it serves. The staff are great, in fact the lady that served us she was so warm and welcoming to everyone.
A must for all to visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Tucked away behind the main harbour road this was a bit of a find. Lovely local seafood, cooked to a high quality. Not huge portions but very tasty.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Tasty but”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Ate at the Starfish on our recent stay in Tarbert. While the food was tasty it was a little bit
'picture on a plate' and we left looking forward to breakfast.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Starfish Restaurant also viewed

Tarbert, Argyll and Bute
Tarbert, Argyll and Bute
 
Tarbert, Argyll and Bute
Tarbert, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Starfish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starfish Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.