We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tarbert Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southcliffe Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarbert
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Southcliffe Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Southcliffe Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Lady Ileene Road, Tarbert PA29 6TU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Tarbert B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Tarbert Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at this cute little B&B only one night - the first of our trip as a matter of fact. We arrived jet lagged and exhausted after the drive from Glasgow so when we were shown to our small but clean and bright room we were pleased to find beds and pillows as comfortable as home covered with crisp white linens and a shower stall of epic proportions. We were offered whatever we wanted for breakfast and our charming host was happy to provide suggestions about places to eat that evening as well. Parking is on the street and finding this gem can be a bit hard if you don't have a concrete idea of how to get there so use a GPS or very detailed instructions. However, we loved Southcliffe and were sad to leave. If I find myself back in Tarbert, I will be staying there again!

Room Tip: The twin room #3 has a great shower stall and looks onto the back garden to it is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
35
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and I visited Southcliffe on the way to Islay but only had one night to enjoy our B & B and the village of Tarbert. The B & B is nicely decorated, very convenient both to the port of Askaig and within Tarbert. Our stay was too short but after a very nice breakfast we continued on to Islay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Travelled to Tarbert, Argyll and Bute, with 3 nutty pals to visit our friends who live just outside the town and booked into the Southcliffe Bed and Breakfast overnight.
Lovely clean, beautifully furnished rooms - we were in the twin and family rooms (sparkling white bed linen on comfy and well-researched matresses!) - with fab en-suite facilities. So nice, we all took ideas away for our own homes!
Agree with all other reviewers about the level of comfort - breakfast orders were taken on arrival and we weren't disappointed, the full Scottish breakfast was fantastic, together with cereals, toast, fruit juice and a platter of fresh fruit to maintain the balance!
Wouldn't hesitate to return - thanks Margaret and Mike, from Lesley, Louise, Lesley and Jane!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

I thought this place was a delightful place to stay, the room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful, they made you whatever you wanted.
The rooms have plenty of amenities including shampoo,shower gel, tea,coffee, hot chocolate,and biscuits.
The hotel is just two minutes from the Harbour.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I just wanted to type up a quick review of my experoence with the Southcliffe Bed & Breakfast.

I had booked up to stay here for just one night as i planned to work over on Islay and then stay over in Tarbert overnight before heading back to my home in Glasgow.

However, it turned out that i was unable to travel over to Islay - I couldnt get a phone signal to call the B&B, i managed to get an email over to the couple who run the B&B, and to let them know i had to cancel my plans. They got back to me really quickly and where very understanding.

The next time im in town i will be staying here due to the customer service i have recieved.

Great attitude towards the way they run the place. Thanks again for your understanding.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We spent a wonderful night at Southcliffe. The room was absolutely gorgeous - very clean, and fresh feeling, and the ensuite was spacious. The bed was exceptionally comfortable, and all of the facilities were top quality. Margaret recommended a walk to Skipness (9.5 miles), and it did not disappoint. The fish breakfast was delicious, as was the fresh fruit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, Lancashire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed for two nights in early July, all areas and bedrooms are well appointed and really clean. Breakfast was a large plate of gorgeous soft fruits following by a huge Scottish breakfast with haggis and black pudding or a lovely kipper. This was followed by freshly brewed filter coffee, great start to a morning and a holiday in Kintyre. Thank you Mike and Margaret.

C. Burrows

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southcliffe Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southcliffe Bed and Breakfast

Address: Lady Ileene Road, Tarbert PA29 6TU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Tarbert
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Tarbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well proportioned, turn of the century stone built property (reportedly from the walls of the Castle of Robert the Bruce), modernised to include all rooms with en-suites, internet access and satalite TV's.The house is situated just a few minutes from the centre of Tarbert and within easy reach of local ferries. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Southcliffe Bed And Breakfast Tarbert, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southcliffe Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.