We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Barge

Cafe Barge
Harbour Street | Loch Fyne, Tarbert PA29 6UD, Scotland
07949723128
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 17 Restaurants in Tarbert
Price range: $0 - $23
Cuisines: Seafood, Tapas, Vegetarian, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Brighton
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A lovely experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Tarbert is fairly quiet in the evening and so there is fair chance you may get the barge to yourself so climb aboard and enjoy the good, fresh, local dishes of food and a glass of something. The experience of sitting on top gazing at the harbour and watching the gulls is second to none so hop on and enjoy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    19
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Visited here on a lovely sunny Thursday afternoon loved the seafood tapas washed down with a nice wine staff very friendly would most definetly go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing seafood and setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My partner and I were staying in Tarbert for a wedding and were recommended to try this restaurant.

We arrived without a booking but were quickly given a table. The interior is very interesting and it has a lovely, relaxed feel while still being classy. The menu is a mix between seafood and south american cuisine. There is a large specials board with a selection of freshly caught seafood. There are some unusual and interesting seafood dishes such as a giant whelk along with crab, razor clams, scallops and a range of fish. There is also a large selection of south american tapas style dishes.

The house red was very good and complimented to the meal well. The food arrived promptly and the staff were knowledgable and happy to give recommendation on dishes.

The food is excellent value for fresh, well prepared seafood and the non-fish tapas dishes were also very tasty.

Really, really enjoyed the whole experience and trying to find a reason to return to Tarbert so I can go here again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Almost walked passed this place, but decided it was an unusual venue so popped in. So glad that we did. The barge is certainly unusual and the food was excellent. My wife, two kids and I chose a range from the tapas menu and we weren't disappointed. Lovely seafood, great flavours and nice friendly service. My daughter said she would like to live and eat her lunch here every day!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food, welcoming staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My son and I had a great meal here during our 1 night stopover in Talbert at the beginning of our tour of the Scottish highlands and islands.
We had Tapas and chose a number of the specials and recommendations- including cracked crabs claws (beautiful) and octopus (again really good).
My son is vegetarian and his choices were somewhat limited but he still enjoyed the food he had which was all of a good quality.
The atmosphere on the barge was really friendly, relaxed and accepting- we would definitely recommend this place if you are looking for good fresh food in a relaxed and informal atmosphere!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Barge also viewed

Tarbert, Argyll and Bute
Tarbert, Argyll and Bute
 
Tarbert, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Cafe Barge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Barge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.