We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drinks on a barge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Barge

Cafe Barge
Harbour Street | Loch Fyne, Tarbert PA29 6UD, Scotland
07949723128
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 18 Restaurants in Tarbert
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $23
Cuisines: Seafood, Vegetarian, Tapas, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Seattle
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Drinks on a barge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was so fun. We sat on the top of this barge and enjoyed our beers and wine on a beautiful evening. Memorable. The host was very friendly (as are all the people of Scotland apparently).

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    19
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Callander, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“HOME MADE FISH PIE EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We loved the home made fish pie ---lots of delicious fish and very hot!! Came to the table bubbling. Starters very good too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We visited Cafe Barge on a sunny afternoon. It had been very busy but we were welcomed regardless. The chap that was serving and taking orders was doing it all on his own and doing a fantastic job if it. The tapas were wonderful - especially that prawn tails in chili and the muscle pate with oatcakes. I would very much recommend the experience!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseilles
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Most Enjoyable,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Great food in a great location, loved the food and the service, and will be back again, Highly recommended if your passing through, lunch or dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“A sea food extraveganza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Cafe Barge does not have the most enticing exterior but is most welcoming once you have stepped into the cabin. If you like sea food and vegetarian dishes this is the place for you as no meat is served. We had incredible oysters, scallops, smoked mussels, razor clams, prawns, kedgeree and couscous with vegetables. They also serve an excellent range of drinks.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Barge also viewed

Tarbert, Argyll and Bute
Tarbert, Argyll and Bute
 
Tarbert, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Cafe Barge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Barge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.