We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of anchorage restaurant

anchorage restaurant
Harbour Street, Tarbert PA29 6UD, Scotland
+44 1880 820881
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 18 Restaurants in Tarbert
Price range: $30 - $45
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Been here a few times for dinner and always been really impressed. This time popped in for lunch when I was in the area on business. Had the goat's cheese panacotta because it piqued my curiosity, and I was really glad I did. Lovely creamy, airy little mouthful. Then had the scallops and, as is usual here, they were fresh, creamy and simply but beautifully cooked and presented. And thank the Lord, they serve the corals - the best bit that too many restaurants discard!
I've watched the seafood being delivered here, straight of the boat, and it's then treated with respect and love. I just wish I lived closer!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    22
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
leek, staffs
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Great fresh food made from local ingredients. Staff shortages had no impact on quality of food or service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseilles
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A nice night out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Decided on a whim to go out for dinner on a rare thursday night off!
Really glad i chose the anchorage for the occasion,
The food was great and the service was pleasant, a great night had by me and my partner!
And i have to admit, the sticky toffee pudding was better than my own!
Great value for money!
Thank you, and keep it up!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“First class cooking using local ingredients”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We really enjoyed a delicious meal of local langoustines for a starter then mussels (in chilli lemon grass and coconut) for a main course. Excellent home made bread to make the meal complete. The chef made himself available to speak to customers and did a great job in the preparation of the finest ingredients, at very reasonable prices.

I will certainly return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

It was a quiet evening at the Anchorage. A bit of a shame really, because the food is very good at a very reasonable price. The vegetarian options are also quite creative ( big bonus for that). Good size portions, so we had some room left for the Scottish cheeses.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed anchorage restaurant also viewed

Tarbert, Argyll and Bute
Tarbert, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to anchorage restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage anchorage restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.