We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Stay in Port Erin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Falcon's Nest Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Falcon's Nest Hotel to your Saves list
Falcon's Nest Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Station Road, Port Erin, Port Erin IM9 6AF   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Port Erin
Douglas, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Winter Stay in Port Erin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Warm comfortable room with good breakfast and sea view over Port Erin beach. Room contained tea and coffee making, TV, hairdryer and en-suite bathroom with bath, toilet and shower and shaver socket. Excellent hot and cold breakfast was included with plenty of choice.

Room Tip: Romm 8 and one above it has a good sea view though on the road side, as it has a bay window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    59
    27
    8
    6
See reviews for
29
61
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Fantastic stay friendly staff had a really nice room,hot shower,comfy bed good breakfast,nice Victorian hotel overlooking beautiful bay close to bus and steam triangle quiet location but good access to Douglas if needing more shopping

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

iCharacterful hotel, with beautiful sea views from the conservatory restaurant, room clean and comfortable. Safe excellent off-street parking. Food good, particularly breakfast. Saff friendly and efficient.
Here comes the "but" Steep stairs, long corridors, and neither passenger lift nor stairlifts. Absolutely unsuitable for anyone who has trouble with stairs. Perhaps the first floor rooms might be managed, but no higher. We were lucky to have our original room changed, otherwise my 82 year old friend would have had huge difficulty accessing our original room.

Room Tip: See above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Staying at the Falcons Nest apartments this week and can only say what a lovely accommodation this is,, very clean throughout,, all the mod cons you need, so spacious inside. in an ideal spot just off the main Port Erin promenade with plenty of safe off road parking. so close to the front but still so quite. just what you would expect from 4 star accommodation. lift to all floors. would I recommend it. without a doubt,, Yes...

Room Tip: Any apartment as think they are all the same. I am in flat 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Came here looking for a place for a light lunch. Restaurant looked closed so wondered into terraced area by the bar. We couldn't figure if food was available and despite looking rather lost no one came to offer us custom of any kind so we aborted the mission and went somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anon030, General Manager at Falcon's Nest Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
I am most surprised that this customer was not attended to immediately. This is our MGP week and one of our busiest so staffing is extremely high. Unfortunately the customer did not inform us of the time he called into the hotel or how long he waited. We do not wish to lose any custom but would inform the public that the hotel restaurant is closed from 2-6pm (bar meals only) and there is a notice to this effect. Please try us again as you are probably still on the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stopped 4 nights in Room 40 which is a large family room with fabulous sea view, two bedrooms, one with double bed, the other with twin beds. Both rooms were lovely, spacious well equipped and spotlessly clean. Only downside was the matrass on the double bed is incredibly uncomfortable. We like a firm matrass but this was rock solid with quite a few hard lumps that did make it very painful to sleep on. My parents were stopping at the same time in room 3 and that again was a lovely room with sea views and they had no problems with their matrass. Breakfast was excellent, self-service buffet and lots of choice. Quite a few people (me included) had major problems with the toaster. You have to do your own toast but it doesn't pop up when done as would normally happen so a lot of burnt toast and by the time people had actually worked out how to correctly use it there was very often a queue building up. This did seem to be a major problem and they either need to get a new toaster, put instructions up or better still if toast could be done in the kitchen and then brought out to each table as normally happens in hotels. Food in the restaurant on a night was excellent, good choice and well cooked. Ask to sit in the conservatory if possible and enjoy the fabulous views. Hotel has its own car park which is just around the corner and there does seem to be plenty of spaces. What made the whole experience so special though were the staff. Everyone goes out of their way to be friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. Reception, waitresses, bar staff, housekeeping staff - all of them so pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

After my earlier review in May, I would just like to say that we went to a wedding in the Isle of Man last weekend. We stayed in the Falcons Nest Hotel as the wedding reception was held there. The rooms were clean and tastefully furnished, and the food and service was a very big improvement to the previous time. Everybody was polite and helpful and the room the reception was held in was very nice. The only downside was that the bedrooms were a little cold at night and the heating seemed to be turned down, otherwise it was a very pleasant stay we stayed there three nights. There was a large variety for breakfast, including a hot buffet and fruit cereals yogurts fruit juices etc.The hotel is situated close to the seafront, and a number of rooms have a seaview. It is nice to have an evening meal in the conservatory restaurant overlooking the bay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Falcon's Nest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon's Nest Hotel

Address: Station Road, Port Erin, Port Erin IM9 6AF
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Port Erin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Port Erin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Falcon's Nest Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Falcon's Nest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falcon's Nest Hotel Port Erin, Isle Of Man

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falcon's Nest Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.