We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Lodge B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Erin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Lodge B&B
Save
You added West Lodge B&B to your Saves list
Castletown Road, Port Erin Isle of Man, Port Erin IM9 6BD   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Port Erin B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I had a fantastic stay at Barbara and Eric's. They are very welcoming hosts, friendly and helpful. There was plenty of tasty breakfast and the room was clean and cozy, with a very, very comfortable bed. And nice hot shower. They even took me to the airport as I had an early flight to catch. Thank you for everything
(p.s. if you love nature the Isle of Man is an experience not to miss)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westlodge_13, Owner at West Lodge B&B, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Hi Pina Thankyou for your kind review so glad the weather held and you got to see some of the
Island.Hopefully you will get back someday and see the rest of it. Nice to meet you take care
kind regards Eric and Barbara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
10
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Coming over from Canada, you never know what to expect in a different country. We have stayed a number of times with Barbara and Eric and now consider them to be friends. Not only are you made to feel part of the family but the rooms are clean and cozy and the food is fabulous. We are looking very much forward to our next stay with them for 2014 TT.
Barbara & Ken, from Canada

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westlodge_13, Owner at West Lodge B&B, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hi Barbara and Ken Thankyou once again for your kind words,it is always nice to see you both and we hope you make it through the winter months without bike fever, see you in 2014 take care
kind regards Eric and Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed for one night only at the family run West Lodge. On a boys walking trip, passing through Port Erin- Barbara and Eric were happy only to happy to accommodate us for a single stay. Very spacious rooms. Greeted with homemade cake and a cupa. Delicious breakfast to set us up for our hike over to Peele. Would stay again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westlodge_13, Owner at West Lodge B&B, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hi Thankyou for your kind review,we hope you visit the Island again soon.
kind regards Barbara and Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

A wonderful place to stay in IOM. Goes very well along with the calm and peaceful nature of the island itself. Clean and pretty rooms with delicious and generous breakfast. Barbara was a genuinely wonderful host! I was there just for the weekend, but I wish I could have been there for longer. I'll be going back to IOM someday and I'll definitely stay at the West Lodge! I would recommend this place to anyone who wishes to stay away from the 'city', and still be close to all the facilities.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westlodge_13, Owner at West Lodge B&B, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thankyou for your kind review,it was a shame you were only here for a short while maybe see you again in the future.
kind regards Barbara and Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

\just back from trip to Port Erin and IOM. Thoroughly enjoyed stopping at West Lodge. This is the best place we have stayed at on IOM. Lovely clean accommodation, Great cooked breakfast and delicious cakes every day. Hosts always helpful with advice and tips. Would highly recommend. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westlodge_13, Owner at West Lodge B&B, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thankyou Rupert for your kind review,its good to know you enjoy staying with us .It makes all our effort worth while.
regards Eric and Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield England
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

After my first visit last November I had no hesitation in returning in May. I felt I was coming home! Situated in easy walking distance of the sea front, shops and eateries in Port Erin, West Lodge ticks all the boxes and more. Nothing was too much trouble. The bathroom is just down the corridor with dressing gowns thoughtfully provided and the breakfast/sitting room provides all you need from an array of beverages to some of Barbara's delicious cake at supper time! Breakfast is excellent with ample choice. The bus and steam train station is near by and Port Erin bay is a beautiful setting for sunsets as well as a good starting point for coastal walks. Looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westlodge_13, Owner at West Lodge B&B, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We are so glad you came to stay at Westlodge again and that you enjoyed your stay.Eric and I look forward to your next visit. All the best
kind regards Barbara and Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have been coming to the IOM and Port Erin in particular for 15 years, and of all the places I have stayed, this is the one I would choose to come back to. Barbara and Eric are the perfect hosts and make sure all their guests have everything they need, and they are prepared to put themselves out for the guests and allow them to use the kitchen and other facilities usually not available to B&B guests.

Having read the other comments, it is true that the bathroom is shared and there are no TVs in the bedroom, but these are only slight inconveniences and a little planning means everyone gets to use the bathroom in comfort. Their brochure explains exactly what is and is not offered, so you wont get any shocks. The negative comments should not detract from the warm and homely atmosphere they have created for the guests, and remember there are the little extras they provide such as the wonderful cakes supplied every night. There is free Wifi, so you can watch programmes in the room if you want to.

Their breakfasts are extensive and beautifully cooked, the bedrooms and all communal rooms are spick and span, and really the whole experience they provide is excellent. All this for just £25 or night, too.

So, if you are using this review to plan your holiday, give them a ring. You won't be disappointed if you decide to stay there ( and I was there 2 weeks) .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westlodge_13, Owner at West Lodge B&B, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thankyou for your kind review ,we always try our best for our guests to have a good time in Port Erin and you certainly packed alot in on your holiday.We hope to see you again soon and all the best for the future.
kind regards Eric and Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Lodge B&B

Address: Castletown Road, Port Erin Isle of Man, Port Erin IM9 6BD
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Port Erin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Port Erin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run B and B.We aim to make your stay enjoyable and help you when ever we can.We are both Manx and know the I O M well.We provide a cooked breakfast and home made cakes in the evening We charge from £25 per night for stays over 4 nights and £30 for short stays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West Lodge B&B Port Erin, Isle Of Man

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Lodge B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.