We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub grub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bay Hotel

The Bay Hotel
Lower Promenade, Port Erin
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 16 Restaurants in Port Erin
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Postcode IM9 6HL
Peel, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pub grub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We waited a long time for our food ,but when it was served it was well worth the wait,good decent food reasonably priced,nice staff.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    26
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Matlock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very good ales and food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We visited here on one rainy Saturday evening recently during our holiday. However when inside there was a very friendly welcome and we soon felt much better.
This was much enhanced with an excellent pint of beer and very good wholesome food.
The Bay is well located right on the beach at Port Erin, with gorgeous views across the bay, when it's not raining.
This is a traditional style Pub and well worth a visit.
I will be returning during our break.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great pub and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Love this place. Sells some really good local ales and has a real pub atmosphere about it, of course right on the beach with outside seating. The food is good homemade food, fresh chips and they do fabulous Queenies. Great value for money. Staff are friendly. A jewel in the crown.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great location, great find!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Found this pub after asking a local for recommendations for somewhere to eat on a Friday night when visiting Port Erin. Staff were very helpful - we hadn't booked and although they had no room inside we were able to sit outside on a beautiful sunny evening facing out to the beach. Real good pub grub, all 5 of us thoroughly enjoyed our meals. Great portions and reasonable wait for food to be served. Would definitely recommend this place for food when on the Island- all in a glorious setting.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Proper pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Good selection of beer including the local Bushey ale. Food is good pub grub, nothing flashy but satisfying.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bay Hotel also viewed

Port Erin, Isle of Man
Port Erin, Isle of Man
 

Been to The Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.