We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chetcombe House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chetcombe House to your Saves list
Chetcombe House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Chetcombe Road, Mere BA12 6AZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Mere B&B and Inns
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

What a great B&B! Lovely rooms, beautifully decorated. Awesome shower and loved the high quality soaps, shower gels etc. Fantastic breakfast and great service. Rosie and Jerry certainly make you feel very welcome!
Its only a 20 minute drive from Longleat Safari Park.
Also, only a 10 minute stroll into Mere, where you can get some good food in the George Inn.

Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: For the best views go for a room facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
53
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
derbyshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Perfectly situated to explore Dorset, Somerset and Wiltshire, this is quite simply the best B&B we have ever stayed in! Bedrooms were light and airy with comfortable beds, crisp white linen and wonderful views through the big windows across the garden and country side. En-suite bathrooms were immaculate - big fluffy towels and organically sourced shower gel and shampoo.
Breakfast was worth getting up for! Delicious and imaginative - fresh fruit in season, yoghurt, home made granola, and to follow ,every thing from smoked trout and scrambled eggs to Jerry's amazing blueberry pancakes, served American style with maple syrup and local grilled bacon! It felt as if our taste buds had died and gone to heaven!
But what makes this such a special place to stay are the owners, Rosie and Jerry. They were delightful hosts - relaxed,charming and helpful. They gave us the warmest of welcomes and there were thoughtful touches everywhere. Quite simply, as we said earlier, this is the best B&B that we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Despite being literally 15 seconds from the A303 you would never know it - set well back from the road with rooms at the back of the house it was completely tranquil. Set in great gardens with spectacular rolling views, our room was good size for a family of 3 (5yr old) wonderfully decorated and with very comfortable beds. Homemade cookies yummy, ensuite with a bath - great for kids. Breakfast with 'proper' local sausages and free range eggs, homemade bread too. A truly perfect stay. Thank you Rosie and Jerry x

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I, along with my partner, brother and his partner had a wonderful 2 nights and 2 breakfasts. The bedroom was brightly lit with gorgeous sunshine, and revealed excellent taste in the delicate decor. There is ample place to park, and a beautiful garden, the B&B is in a great location too. The customer service is exemplary! We were supplied with info on places to dine before we arrived, and looked after with great care all the time we were there.I fully recommend booking a room here, you will have a lovely stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodmell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have just returned from a nights stay here, and felt I should write a review because it really does deserve the praise.
A beautiful home, tastefully decorated with stunning bedrooms overlooking the huge garden and beyond. Such wonderful detail in the rooms, including Neals Yard bathroom products and soft throws on crisp clean sheets and fluffy pillows. I slept so well, it was quiet and had a very calming ambience.
Breakfast was a 5* affair. Homemade granola, freshly homemade organic bread, local Dorset honey and jams, big pots of tea in fine china..followed by what I can only describe as the BEST hot breakfast I have ever had. Scambled egg and smoked trout on a bed of Mushrooms and grilled tomatoes; kept me going all day!
Overall, a very classy place run by a genuinely lovely couple with extremely good taste and very high standards.
This isn't your average B&B, this is a luxury retreat and I will definitely be back..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here for a visit to Longleat and it was lovely. The room was spotless and warm and it was so friendly and they made us feel very welcome. Mere is lovely and only a short walk. Bath is not too far about a half hour drive away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A warm welcome, fabulous breakfast especially Jerry,s pancakes and walks to satisfy the energetic! Will tell our family and friends.
The Neals Yard shower gel was a luxury, pity the shower was under powered but overall a winner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chetcombe, Owner at Chetcombe House, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hello Caroline - many thanks for your lovely review. It is sincerely appreciated. Your comments about the slow pressure to the shower have been noted and I think we may have worked out what the problem was (incorrect shower head recently installed) so if you visit again this won't be an issue. Thanks again :) Best wishes - Rosie and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chetcombe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chetcombe House

Address: Chetcombe Road, Mere BA12 6AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Mere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chetcombe House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chetcombe House is an elegant and cosy country house situated a short walk from the centre of the charming town of Mere in Wiltshire. Assessed by the Quality in Tourism Authority, it offers 4 star accommodation. Breakfasts include a good range of options with the focus on home-made, locally sourced and fair trade produce. The property has 5 en-suite bedrooms and the owners, Sandra Rose and Jerry Meyer, do all they can to ensure that guests have an enjoyable and relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chetcombe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chetcombe House Mere, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chetcombe House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.