We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The George Inn

The George Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The George Inn to your Saves list
The George Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   The Square, Mere BA12 6DR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Mere B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Just come back from a 2 night stay. I would agree with most of what Donnytone has said, bags of charm, character and qualities such as real oak beams and ceilings that aren't even, the odd window that doesn't sit exactly straight. Doors that you have to bend down to go through and a magical staircase and landing that is uneven and creaks like a good old floor should. Bedrooms were very clean and of an acceptable standard for the price. We ate both nights in the restaurant and the food was excellent. Breakfast was also excellent, good choice and plenty of it. Staff we came into contact with were helpful and cheerfull, never did meet the owners even though we had an issue with the room. They moved us no questions asked but we were a little surprised the owners offered no explanation and never make themselves known to us. But this small hitch would not stop us coming here again it's a lovely building and I would recommend it to any one.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    20
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
14
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth UK
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stopped off and had the soup of the day: parsnip and apple. It came with a really really good hand baked (I guess) roll. The service was perfect - interested but not too pushy. Location is ideal, just off the A303. Well recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, S Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Just got back from a two night stay here. My wife and I, daughter and son in law decided to stay here so we could spend a full day at Longleat . What can I say that already hasn't been said. The inn hasn't got massive bedrooms or 33" Sky tv's , gymnasium or sauna, it hasn't even got a disco ! BUT it's a 500+ year old inn with Royal links to history. What it has got, is bags of charm, character and qualities such as real oak beams and ceilings that aren't even, the odd window that doesn't sit exactly straight. Doors that you have to bend down to go through and a magical staircase and landing that is uneven and creaks like a good old floor should. The inn is very clean and well decorated. Downstairs the breakfast room is excellent and the bar area with its slate floors and massive fireplace is more than welcoming. The rooms are big enough with very nice up to date en suites. The breakfasts and evening meals are real winners and lots of locally brewed ales and ciders. The staff are more than very nice and will serve you well. For a short or long stay I ask you, what more can you ask for?

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Devon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Room:

Room 7. Freezing cold when we first walked in. The layout of the room is all wrong. The TV couldn't have been bigger than 10 inches & too far away from the bed, oddly positioned on a stand right outside the bathroom. The bathroom was up there with the worst i've ever been in! Tiny, worn & extremely dirty all around the carpeted floor & the tiles. The towel rail & tissue holder were broken off.. why on earth they haven't fixed that is beyond me! One of the curtains was also falling off.

Food:

We wanted to order duck but they didn't have enough but what we did have was of high quality for a quiet pub/B&B. There were excellent choices on the menu & other people's food looked really nice as well. However, it did feel like we were eating in a morgue. No ambience or atmosphere, especially for a Saturday night.
The breakfast options in the morning were good, the full English wasn't! The waitress had to balance the plate so that the big pile of grease/oil that had built up, wouldn't spill as she handed it to me. It amazes me how between the chef & the waitress, they thought that was acceptable.

Staff/service:

Nothing special. We definitely weren't made to feel at home. In fact we felt a bit awkward, like outsiders. Nobody asked us any questions like how our stay or food was.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_The_George_Mere, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
We clearly failed meet any of your expectations on this occasion, and for that I apologise. By way of explanation I would like to say that the George Inn, Mere is a historic Grade II listed building, which originally intended as an Inn, has only had its letting rooms converted to en suite in recent years. We have only been tenants here for a relatively short while and we are plan so major refurbishments to bring our accommodation up to standards expected by modern day travellers, however we do feel the modest rates we charge reflect standards that we would normally hop to achieve. We taken note of all of your comments and rest assured, practices have improved as a result of your comments. Thank you for taking the time and effort to draw these issues to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Always good to stay in a place where the floors aren't all even! Friendly staff and great food. Thoroughly recommend the slow roast pork belly - the crackling was crisp but not tooth-cracking. And then, after a good night's sleep there's a huge breakfast. I opted for poached eggs on toast as the full 'Country Breakfast' looked enormous and, sadly, I had to go off to work. For a small place, Mere has a couple of attractions so well worth a stop over if you're heading east or west.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The George was recommended by our campsite owner (Eric) as the place to eat well locally and we were very glad he did. Our meal last Saturday evening was both good value and delicious. Proper English food perfectly cooked, a triumph, thankyou!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I just stayed at the George it was all great bar 1 thing well one person really but I get 2 that in a bit.we only stayed for a few nights the room was clean and tidy.the food was great.and all the staff bar 1 was warm and welcome and kind but 1 person behind the bar was very rude,moody.she just chucked our drinks and change at us.and keep giving us evil looks all night which made me and my girlfriend un easy all night.we would love 2 go back and stay but we won't as long as she there.and we will make every 1 know about her rudest.if any of u do go there beware she is the girl who is big that's all I say.hope this helps u

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Inn

Address: The Square, Mere BA12 6DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Mere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Inn Mere, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.