We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pub Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The George Inn

The George Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The George Inn to your Saves list
The George Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   The Square, Mere BA12 6DR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Mere B&B and Inns
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Pub Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Always good to stay in a place where the floors aren't all even! Friendly staff and great food. Thoroughly recommend the slow roast pork belly - the crackling was crisp but not tooth-cracking. And then, after a good night's sleep there's a huge breakfast. I opted for poached eggs on toast as the full 'Country Breakfast' looked enormous and, sadly, I had to go off to work. For a small place, Mere has a couple of attractions so well worth a stop over if you're heading east or west.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    20
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
14
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The George was recommended by our campsite owner (Eric) as the place to eat well locally and we were very glad he did. Our meal last Saturday evening was both good value and delicious. Proper English food perfectly cooked, a triumph, thankyou!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I just stayed at the George it was all great bar 1 thing well one person really but I get 2 that in a bit.we only stayed for a few nights the room was clean and tidy.the food was great.and all the staff bar 1 was warm and welcome and kind but 1 person behind the bar was very rude,moody.she just chucked our drinks and change at us.and keep giving us evil looks all night which made me and my girlfriend un easy all night.we would love 2 go back and stay but we won't as long as she there.and we will make every 1 know about her rudest.if any of u do go there beware she is the girl who is big that's all I say.hope this helps u

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night while visiting friends and had a great stay. We arrived early but no problem our room was ready. The shower was hot, the bed was comfortable and the building had lots of charm. We decided to have our evening meal in the pub and the food and service was really good and good value. The breakfast the next day was the icing on the cake had the full English and lets just say I did not need lunch. Thank you we will be back.

Room Tip: Good location 2 mins of the A303 great little village (visit the old church)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_The_George_Mere, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive comments we hope you will recommend us to your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stopped here recently on the way to Devon and most importantly was grateful that my dog was welcome in the bar area while I met friends for lunch. It was far too hot to have left him in the car outside. (He sat under the table very quietly!) The food was good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had a beautiful day out at Stourhead Gardens but as it was a Sunday evening we could not get a meal in the pub at Stourhead. A short drive soon found us in The George Inn , Mere and what a pleasant surprise. We only had food and drink but this was excellent quality and value for money with very pleasant staff. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollywood uk
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Having originally booked into The Walnut Tree for 3 nights, after just 1 night there and having encountered MANY issues (raw food, cold water, dirty room), the owner relocated us to The George Inn.

Positives = the evening food in bar and at breakfast was good as was the service.

Negatives = VERY dated accommodation in room 2 and facing out onto main road which was noisy and busy throughout our entire stay. There seems no let up with the flow of traffic and the speed at which it comes through the town, during the night there were HGVs tearing past every 20 to 30 minutes. Having spent 1st July here, we had to have the windows open as it was so warm in the room, resulting in NO SLEEP for either myself or my wife.

The bed felt smaller than a double and was lumpy (not sure why a single was also in the room?). One kingsize would have better. No shower, just a hand-held over the bath. Toilet in bathroom but sink in bedroom!

No hairdryers in rooms, you have to ask for one from reception.

Would not recommend anyone stay here unless it's in a room at rear of pub, as the noise from road is dreadful. It was bad even with windows & secondary glazing closed to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_The_George_Mere, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your feed back. As you pointed out The George was not your first choice of accommodation in Mere. The Walnut Tree’s accommodation is recently refurbished and modern.
We are an English Heritage; Grade II listed historic building in the centre of the small town of Mere. Our accommodation does not offer its self as 5*. We feel the rooms have character. The rooms are all different and have been converted to en-suite through the years. Room 2 we regard as a family room, which is why it has a standard size double and a single bed.
There are additional facilities such as hair dryers and a portable air conditioning unit, available on request.
There are times when the road through the town is noisy which presumably why you choose to stay at the Walnut rather than us, but this is reflected in the price difference between us.

We do take onboard your opinions of our accommodation, but do feel that as you didn’t choose to stay with us and the Walnut Tree paid for all of you food and accommodation with us, by way of recompense and apology; your might have let your disappointment with the Walnut Tree, colour your opinion of our Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Inn

Address: The Square, Mere BA12 6DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Mere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Inn Mere, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.