We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Labour In Vain

The Labour In Vain
59 Redhill Stourbridge, Stourbridge DY8 1NG, England
+44 1384 395262
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 115 Restaurants in Stourbridge
Price range: $2 - $15
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We do the best home made chips in stourbridge, we also do home cooked sunday roasts thay can be hard to find in your local area. So please come down say hello and have a nice pint and a bite to eat in our family frendly pub
Stourbridge
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We went for food tonight i had mixed grill and my husband had tikka massala the steak melted in my mouth and the gammon was amazing the food was so nice i couldnt finish it so they put it in a doggy bag to take home the chef was really nice came over to us to see if the food was ok it was better than ok loved the chips they was home made better than the local chippy and the waitress was so nice and very friendly will be eating there again and again thankyou labour in vain

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    3
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“Stopping by accident,I found this gem five minutes from where I live…..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Living between Miami Beach and my apartment newly renovated in Pedmore I often enjoy cooking at home,arriving back recently for a weeks stay I was too tired the day of arrival due to delays across the Atlantic from New York to shop in Hagley.By 2pm I gathered myself together and went in search of fish and chips to find them all closed.Driving back I passed Stourbridge station and saw the sign food all day at the Labour in Vain.Quickly parking there I went inside to find it quiet at the bar apart from a couple of retired chaps drinking the local ale and was directed to their restaurant area.As it was mid afternoon I found myself alone but looked around to be seated in a cosey area with laid tables and a very interesting menu from curries to steaks,pasta to fish and chips and enough other choices to fulfil any diners needs.I chose a mixed grill and asked for extra this and extra that,it all seemed no problem,while I waited for this to arrive I indulged in a bottle of white wine and enjoyed this with my meal,it was piping hot and delicious and the best was change out of twenty quid.Top marks indeed at an unbeatable price.
The decor is clean and tidy and well presented,their staff are friendly and helpful and over the week I was home I returned there almost every day including family and friends for Sunday Lunch
Due to such a pleasant and rewarding experience I see little point in cooking myself for a stay of a week to ten days as there is no way I could buy the groceries for the prices they charge it has to be the best value for miles around,if not unbeatable by their neighbours.I cannot express how much I enjoyed the food and made new friends as well whom I look forward to seeing again in a forthcoming visit over Easter…………….Well done.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brierley Hill, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

After hearing a good recommendation about the food and all the good reviews on here my friend and I decided to pop in for lunch. We were greeted my the owner (i think) Karl who was very friendly and immediately made us feel welcome. The food was amazing, I had steak and my friend had homemade crab cakes, The food was delicious and the presentation was what you would expect in a top restaurant. Cannot thing of a simple thing to complain about! Will definitely be visiting again and soon!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food, brilliant staff good beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The last time We went to the labour in vain was October and after a particular bad experience. However we had seen that it had been taken over by new management so we decided to give it one last shot before giving up on it completely, we were greeted by the chef who was very charming young man he let us know what specials he had made so we order our drinks and meals and take a seat in restaurant the after about 15 mins out comes our mains I had a mammoth mix grill and my wife had BBQ chicken, it was well presented cooked perfect and what shocked me the most was the proper chips made out of proper potatoes not these frozen bags you get. The chef came over personally to ask if everything was ok with our meals then again the chef came to clear the plates and have a conversation with us which I think is nice and it adds the personal touch to our meal, over all fantastic meal, brilliant staff and the real ales they have are amazing some of the best ales I've had we enjoyed it that much I'm taking my mother there for Sunday lunch

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“New Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Went to the labour in vain for food from new menu. Lovely food, generous Portions, warm atmosphere. Never went in before because of the reputation. Live locally now so am in all the time. Love it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Labour In Vain also viewed

Stourbridge, West Midlands
Stourbridge, West Midlands
 
Stourbridge, West Midlands
Stourbridge, West Midlands
 

Been to The Labour In Vain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Labour In Vain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.