We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Indian in the UK!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bengal fusion

Bengal fusion
174 high street | Lye, Strourbridge, Stourbridge DY9 8LN, England
01384 891 111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 107 Restaurants in Stourbridge
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
peterborough, UK
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“The best Indian in the UK!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit, were not local to Stourbridge and have friends who live there and we always request we eat there on a Saturday night.

This Resturant is always packed with people compared to others on the night street which to me means alot. Service can be a little slow due to how busy it can get but were not in any rush!

Food is amazing, lots of different flavours and textures. No bar so take your own wine and beer. They will provide the glasses!

Can't wait to go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    13
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Never fails to impress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have used this restaurant since my mum raved about it a few years ago, since then we have tried others in the locality but always come back to this restaurant. Other restaurants just don't quite compare. It is quite simply unbeatable in every respect. We have taken many friends here and they all agree you would need to go a long way to beat the good value for money and wonderful food found here.
Cleanliness:- the restaurant is always clean, plates, cutlery and glasses, spotless.
Service:- friendly and polite waiting staff, courteous and hard working. Despite the fact that it can get exceedingly busy, we have never had to wait for long for our food.
Food:- I have never had a bad meal here. Food is always beautifully presented. I always feel that it is fresh. A fabulous selection for everybody's taste. I have tried most things on the menu and enjoyed every single one of them. My only criticism would be about a vegetarian meal (Balti dish), this although tasted lovely, I felt that the veg came out of a frozen bag of mixed veg that you can buy out of the supermarket. Other than that no complaints :-)
The restaurant itself is quite small. It is usually busy and we try and always book an appointment as it can get busy on most nights. Drive down Lye High Street on most nights and this is the only restaurant that is filled with customers.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinswinford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Superb Christmas Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have enjoyed over time many excellent meals here and this Christmas day booked for lunch we were offered a selection of Indian dishes or traditional turkey, we had a wonderful meal ( more of a banquet) with fruit punch and nibbles followed by tasty starters and excellent main courses (the lamb shank was particularly good) we finished with sweets, mince pies, cakes and finally coffee and mints. The staff looked after us very well and the atmosphere created made for a great occasion.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Yet again top class indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This has to be the best place for Curry in the Stourbridge area. We took friends here last weekend. The restaurant was very busy however this didn't impact the standard of the food. Our starters were first class and very fresh and tasty.
There is a vast choice of mains. I opted for the naga which I requested extra hot. This was quite possibly the best curry dish i'd ever tasted. Tasty and full of flavour. The naan breads are to die for. Our friends were also impressed and for a night out at just under £30 per couple you cant moan. Give this place a try its excellent.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HALESOWEN
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great food but too small”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

The food here is great and well worth a visit. The restuarant is small but friendly and I've never seen it empty which is always a good sign

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bengal fusion also viewed

Stourbridge, West Midlands
Stourbridge, West Midlands
 
Stourbridge, West Midlands
Stourbridge, West Midlands
 

Been to Bengal fusion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bengal fusion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.