We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late Sat Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bell

The Bell
Bromsgrove Road | Belbroughton, Stourbridge DY9 9XU, England
01562 731928
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 105 restaurants in Stourbridge
Price range: $12 - $27
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Simply put, The Bell in Belbroughton is a fabulous village pub and restaurant serving up tasty, top-notch food alongside an eclectic range of wines and cask ales in cosy, stylish surroundings.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Late Sat Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Had been to the Bell a few years ago finding it easy to access off M5
We arrived at 2.30 Sat 6th April to find that what seemed to be a lot of folk arriving for second shift or a late lunch like us. But for such a large place with so many tables in various nooks and crannies it was still far from busy. Wife daughter and I thought the Bell was a lovelly pub, really quaint and some quality. This is an M&B former Vintage Inn which now seems to have been moved upmarket and they have done it well.
Really impressed with excellent welcome and service from our server Karen, and when the food did eventually come was all perfectly fine - but everything was so dreadfully slow. The fact we were not there for the occassion and wanted our food reasonable quickly added a little to our frustration.
Doom Bar Bitter was excellent, plus other real ales and Carling lager. As said really lovelly spot, large beer garden (for when the sun does eventually shine) atmospheric pub, prices reasonable but has to sharpen up on time for food to come out of the kitchen. Perhaps it was an off day. But we will return on next long motorway journey, this good pub is only a mile or so off J4 M5

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

55% Recommend
    56
    57
    24
    33
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Family Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We booked our family meal at The Bell a couple of months proir to the event and i have to say, the manageress who sorted everything out for us made our special day a very relaxed and pleasant one. We pre ordered wine and she had it on the table reafy for us, the 'Barn' was set beautifully with candles and the fire was lit so it was nice and toasty when we arrived. We had unfortunately forgotten our ipod but the Manager offered us his so we could still have some music playing which we really appreciated.

We had the menu specially printed for us on the day and this had appeared to have been no extra trouble. The Sunday platter was beautiful and the roast potatoes were one of the best i've had in a pub before. Our waitress was extremely efficient and she had extra help from her fellow colleagues when the food was being brought out which meant it all came together and was piping hot. Sauces were already out on the table so there was no waiting around and she was quick to get extra gravy organised for us.

Desserts were just as good, at £3 each off the Sunday Lunch menu too they were a bargain. i came over to pay my bill and the manageress asked us how our day had gone...i was very pleased to easily say it had been brilliant!!

Overall, my father inlaw could not have had a better birthday celebration and i would pubically like to thank all of the staff at The Bell for their service on Sunday...despite them being busy, we were all taken care of very well. We will be back soon!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The Bell - good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

The Bell serves home cooked food. I do wish they offered more interesting vegetarian dishes but it has improved recently!

The dessert sharer is very good value as you get a big selection of almost full sized desserts all on one plate!

It does get busy so booking is advised. We have had a few niggles in the past but nothing too bad.

We have returned on many occasions and will do again soon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent Easter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Came for a meal with the in laws on Friday lovely evening everyone enjoyed it! I enjoyed it so much I came back Monday with my girlfriend! Excellent service along with a lovely meal, really enjoyed the salsa Verdi on my scallops! Will be back soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Extremely slow service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had a table for 4 booked for 8.30 on Saturday night and ordered from the limited Easter menu only to be told that there was no Sirloin. We waited ages for our meals, when they eventually came my husband only had 4 small slices of duck, it was certainly not value for money. When asked how our meals were we just had to ask if there was a mistake with the portion size of the duck. The manager said that she would be back with some more in 2 minutes. About 12 minutes later, when everyone had finished she comes out with another meal and by this time the night was ruined as we were all forever looking over our shoulder and waiting. The manageress did not seem to be in control of the restaurant service. To sum up this was a pub trying to dress up as an a la carte restaurant at a la carte prices. Just not value for money. We will not be returning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bell also viewed

Stourbridge, West Midlands
West Midlands, England
 
Stourbridge, West Midlands
Clent, Worcestershire
 

Been to The Bell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.