We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great afternoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The White Horse

The White Horse
Shere Lane, Shere, Guildford GU5 9HS, England
+44 1483 202518
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Shere
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Nestling amongst the lovely half-timbered buildings of Shere, close to the tiny bubbling River Tillingbourne, is a former 15th century farmhouse and Grade II Listed Building called The White Horse.It's hard to imagine an English country pub more idyllic. One of Hollywood's most romantic films 'The Holiday,' starring Cameron Diaz and Jude Law, was shot there. In fact, the charms of Shere have lured the creators of 'Four Weddings and a Funeral,' 'Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason,' and 'The Wedding Date' and 'Molly Moon' too.In its former life, The White Horse was a 15th century farmhouse called: 'The Cripps,' and it became an inn sometime in the 17th century. It is also rumoured to be a former smugglers' pub after a secret cellar was discovered during extensive renovations. Authentic timbers taken from Nelson's ship, 'Victory,' are thought to be part of the pub, and there are also some traditional village stocks on the premises too.Inside, private spaces, nooks and crannies set the scene for romantic dining whilst, outside, a shaded courtyard ensures the perfect setting for eating al fresco. Come rain or shine, The White Horse is a must for lovers of traditional British country pubs. Recent filming in Shere: 26th October till 9th November 2012 Molly Moon: The Incredible Hypnotist. Starring: Raffey Cassidy as Molly, Dominic Monaghan, Lesley manville, Emily Waston, Ben Miller, Celia imrie, Anne-Marie Duff, Sadie Frost, Joa Collins. June 2012 A Mother's Son - Television 1st May 2012 The Last Weekend: Filming took place in the Sqare, Shere. 2008 Filth, The Mary Whitehouse Story 2006 The Holiday 2005 The Wedding Date (romantic comedy)starring: Debra messing, Dermot Mulroney 2004 Bridget Jones - The Edge of Reason, starring: Renee Zellweger, Colin Firth, Hugh Grant, Jim Broadbent Bridget Jones- Press Reports (icSurrey Dec 4,2003, by John Williams) Hollywood descended on St James' Church, Shere, for the filming of a major British film. International stars Renee Zellweger and Colin Firth, as well as a host of British comic actors, were involved in the filming of the sequel to Bridget Jones's Diary in the village. Two hundred extras and crew bustled around the normally peaseful streets as a crowd of expectant onlookers jostled to see the celebrities. Tonnes of false snow were sprayed over the church and graveyard and throughout the morning the village experienced an early-winter blizzard. Several police officers attended the site to control the lorries that served the set and to try and contain the paparazzi photographers who were there to snap the stars. 1994 Four Weddings and a Funeral 1990 Bullseye! Starring Roger Moore & Michael Caine. Directed by Michael Winner 1985 Reunion at Fairborough. Starring Robert Mitchum & Deborah Kerr 1972 The Fuling Class. Starring Peter O'Toole & Alistair Sim 1965 The Earth Dies Screaming 1961 On The Fiddle (Released in USA under the title Operation Snafu). Starring Sean Connery 1957 The Passionate Stranger 1946 A Matter of Life and Death. Starring David Niven 1918 Hearts of the World is a silent film directed by D.W. Griffith. Starring Lillian Gish, Dorothy Gish, Ben Alexander, Robert Harron, Marry Harron.
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We visited the white horse on Saturday with our neighbours to celebrate our neighbours birthday .Was very impressed with the service, our waitress Jenny had a chat with regard to the history of the film holiday what had a few scenes shot there .The food and beer was good at a reasonable price as well .great location with a lovely little village .
Will definitely go back .
Thanks to all the staff, & our noisy neighbours Sally and Bob for taking us there .

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWhiteHorseShere, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Visitor,

Thank you for your review about The White Horse.

We hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards,

The White Horse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    55
    24
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food and drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Have visited this pub over the last 30 years. It's location is lovely although Shere is busy and the roads narrow. It may seem familiar as it has appeared in many films including Bridget Jones. The pub is opposite the church. The pub has kept its charm over the years and offers several different rooms - very necessary as it is very popular.

We had lunch there today, turkey roast for my husband and gammon grill for me. Both very well prepared and cooked. The service was quick and polite. The atmosphere comfortable and quiet despite the pub being quite busy. The portions sizes were large so we didn't have a dessert although they were very tempting.

Will visit again soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWhiteHorseShere, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Visitor,

Thank you for your review about The White Horse.

We hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards,

The White Horse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carshalton, England
1 review
“Great service, great value, what more could you ask.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Went there yesterday with the neighbours for my wife's birthday. We usually eat in the bar but it was full so used the restaurant. A great view of the square and church. Excellent service from Jenny and a good time had by by all.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWhiteHorseShere, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Visitor,

Thank you for your review about The White Horse.

We hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards,

The White Horse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“very cosy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were really pleased to find such a cosy pub serving food early on a sunday evening, staff were friendly, food very good, good find.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWhiteHorseShere, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Visitor,

Thank you for your review about The White Horse.

We hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards,

The White Horse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sunday afternoon lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Went to the white horse for lunch today and it was superb, I had the mushrooms to start which were delicious and a roast for my main which I must say is the best roast I have had in months, the portions were very generous but managed a pudding as the atmosphere / embience made it difficult to leave. The waiting staff were excellent, very friendly and informative of what was available. The pub is situated in the square which is a popular area, lovely old houses and shops so a walk after around this little village is a must. Will definitely go back and recommend.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWhiteHorseShere, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Visitor,

Thank you for your review about The White Horse.

We hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards,

The White Horse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Horse also viewed

 

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Horse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.