We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added White Hart Hotel to your Saves list
White Hart Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 High Street, Dorchester-on-Thames OX10 7HN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed for two nights, having booked through Travelzoo, which included tickets to Blenheim Palace. Lovely location with walks through the Oxfordshire countryside and also the setting for several Midsomer Murders programmes.We ate from the Market Menu on both evenings and the food was beautifully cooked, as was breakfast!The staff in reception and dining room are very friendly and welcoming.We would certainly recommend this hotel and restaurant and hope to return.

Room Tip: We were allocated the Blenheim room,upstairs at the front. Nice roomy double and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    144
    30
    7
    9
See reviews for
35
272
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Telford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We booked through Travelzoo offers. There were several hotels to choose from but we have chosen the White Hart hotel. It's a historic place where there were lots of 16th century cottages around the area of the hotel. We stayed for 2nights and the food was excellent on both evenings. We must say it's value for money. Staff were very helpful, welcoming and friendly. Good recommendation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the White Hart and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and our room which was full of character and very comfortable provided every thing we needed. We had upgraded to the suite and were not disappointed. Dinner on both evenings was first class and I can particularly recommend the 'assiette of desserts' to share. We had chosen to go a la carte but the market menu looked fabulous too. Breakfast was equally good with lots of great choices.

The Travelzoo deal we were on included tickets to Blenheim Palace. What a wonderful day out! We spent about 6 hours there and still hadn't seen everything there was to see. This hotel was an excellent base for exploring. We used the park and ride to go to Oxford and enjoyed a walking tour which really brought the place to life. Would definitely return to this hotel and recommend it without question.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We arrived early after a nightmare journey, only to be told, in an unfriendly manner, that our room wasn't ready. We accepted that, and decide to have some lunch in the hotel's bar. We ordered roast turkey and cranberry sandwiches, and were served turkey ham and cranberry. When we said that we ordered roast turkey, we were told it was turkey ham, and the packet was waved in front of us as proof that it was turkey ham.

When we finally checked-in, the form was placed in front of us without a word of welcome. It may be that the staff were more engrossed in the computer system than their guests. On the positive side, the breakfast could not be faulted. On the second day, we noticed damp on the floor, and notified reception immediately. We were told that the manager was not available and the problem would be dealt with on his return. When we returned from our evening meal, at another establishment. We found the floor covered in towels. We explained that I was asthmatic and should not sleep in damp conditions. The receptionist explain other guest had been moved to other rooms and there were no further rooms available, but the manager would sort something out.

When we checked the following morning, I was presented with bill in full. When I explained the circumstances, a reduction was made. Unfortunately, because to the manner of the reception and treatment we received, I cannot recommend the hotel to anyone

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Reviewer

We always fully appreciate constructive feedback from our guests.

I realise that your upset on arrival after your car accident was compounded by our mistake by a younger member of our team serving you the wrong product as a replacement

I am disappointed that your review indicates your dissatisfaction upon check out . I was under the impression that we had successfully explained our problem with the flooded bathroom in the adjacent room and that as we were full our inability to offer you another room.

We always endeavour to exceed our guest’s expectations.

Thankfully it is very rare a wheel falls off, and even rarer we are unable to satisfy.

Sean Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Fantastic first visit to this superb hotel! we stayed in room 7 and was just brilliant! Thank you for a great stay! Restaurant was first class food! Just brilliant ! Relaxed couple of days made to feel welcome by all staff! Hotel and restaurant a must and will be recommending it to all my friends and family.. 100% epic

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Very easy booking - with fast, personal response. A perfect setting on a blazing hot day. Nothing too much trouble, and a lovely cool oasis in the foyer. The room was rather warm with full sun, but as we were right at the front of the hotel, I couldn't complain and a fan was already cooling the room when we arrived.
Lovely comfortable bed, excellent breakfast (smoked salmon and scrambled egg), even a free coffee in the evening when we arrived back from climbing the Wittenham Clumps
A wonderful little English town to escape to with great architecture, very friendly natives and lovely countryside (try the riverside walk to Clifton Hampden - it is gorgeous)

Room Tip: Worth paying £10 for the executive double - gives you a room at the front of the hotel - the suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neston,wirral,england
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Very nice hotel, nice clean rooms, great staff( a bit pushed at times), in a lovely village.

My reason for 3*, we were given Shillingford room & this was a room for persons with mobility problems hence the bathroom being set up likewise, it was also rather dark. This room is on the ground floor & we had noisy up stair occupants & on one of the nights they might quite a noise continually walking across the room, this kept us awake until nearly 1am. Half a star deduction.

The 1* deduction was we both thought the food was not up to scratch. It was not all the meal one night the starter was rather bland, the next night I had a rib eye steak, a tad over medium, cooked perfectly. but it was rather tough.

We went on a Travelzoo deal & thought it a 5* deal, we just thought if we had stayed without the deal I would have complained , but with the offer so good I thought it would be churlish to do so.. With this said we still enjoyed staying there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Address: 26 High Street, Dorchester-on-Thames OX10 7HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Dorchester-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dorchester-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Hotel dates back to 1691 and is situated in the "chocolate box" village of Dorchester on Thames in Oxfordshire. The hotel's 28 bedrooms retain all the character of the old coaching inn whilst providing the requirements for today's modern traveller. The restaurant has been awarded an AA Rosette for fresh food dining and offers a delicious a la carte menu as well as a 3 course fixed price Market Menu. Car Parking is free and CCTV monitored. Dorchester on Thames nestles on the banks of the Thames between Henley and Oxford and is an ideal starting point for visits to Oxford City, Blenheim Palace, the Thames Pathway, Bicester Designer Shopping Village, and many Stately Homes and Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel White Hart
White Hart Hotel Dorchester-On-Thames, Oxfordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Hart Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.