We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“White Hart Hotel Dorchester” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added White Hart Hotel to your Saves list
White Hart Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 High Street, Dorchester-on-Thames OX10 7HN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Brighouse, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“White Hart Hotel Dorchester”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Fantastic. Olde worlde hotel. Travelled from Huddersfield, not really knowing what to expect from the reviews. No need to worry. Great atmosphere. Very friendly and helpful staff. Felt we were staying with family rather than at a hotel. The food was amazing. A al carte on our first night, gorgeous, Lovely presentation, tasted fantastic. Worht the journey just for the food. Bedroom clean & tidy, bed comfortable. The bar is also open to passers-by which, as it seemed, were mostly local & very friendly. We had to leave early on the Sunday. The receptionist came in at 6am (1hour early) to prepare some sandwiches for our trip, seeing as we would be missing breakfast, now I don't think that is anything to complain about. try getting that service at a Premier Inn. Will be going back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    127
    26
    6
    8
See reviews for
34
240
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

First , I must say this was not planned, we had booked at the Crown in Benson, but on reading trip advisor at the last minute ( foolishness) we realised this was not the place to be and scanned quickly and found this gem! I could write an essay here, First the price was reasonable and included a wonderful breakfast, the staff were warm friendly people who went out of their way to help at every turn. My warmest praise for the adorable bartender who quickly remembered our drinks and produced them as needed whenever we went in. The room ( en suite ) was small. Really small! But it was clean and fresh and the bed was comfortable. We ate a couple of other meals here, beside the excellent breakfast. Now being English and living in the USA I know that the steaks in England are thin and had my doubts when ordering rare, surprise surprise, it WAS rare and of good quality too, tasty! The dessert I chose was an incredible cheesecake too. So summing up, not only will I stay there again, I strongly urge every one who visits England to base themselves in Dorchester on Thames at the White Hart! Walk for miles in the fields, or read all day by the two log fires. You will not be disappointed, you will feel at home!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham Cheshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed two nights at The White Hart to enable us to spend a day in Oxford. (top tip - use the Park and Ride system to avoid City Centre driving.) On arrival I was pleased to find a large car park at the rear of the Hotel. The reception was welcoming and efficient. The ground floor room we had was small but warm and well appointed. The meals were very good and the breakfast cooked to order was excellent. The staff were super efficient and pleasant and looked as if they enjoyed their job, nothing was too much trouble for them and they made our stay there a lovely experience. Would have no hesitation in returning.
The building retains many original features and If you are a six-footer beware of the beams! For a perfect 5 score I would have preferred a teapot in the room rather than having to use tea bags in a cup, and the pillows and duvet were filled with the cheap and unyielding type of synthetic filling. Upgrading the quality of these would be a sensible investment.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I fancied a 2 night break so took advantage of a Groupen deal. I am so glad we did.

We were greeted by the Bar Manageress, what a lovely welcoming lady. So helpful and friendly. We were shown to our room which was located away from the main building in the 'cottages'. The room was very clean and comfortable. As part of our Groupon deal we had afternoon tea and champagne on arrival and later had a superb 3 course dinner. The whole ambience was calm and friendly, nothing was too much trouble.
Next morning breakfast was first class with plenty of choice again the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Dorchester on Thames is a very old village steeped in history and within easy reach of Oxford for a day out.

All in all this was a superb experience and we would definitely go again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
342 helpful votes 342 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Staff very welcoming, with cream tea on arrival and very smooth check-in. The log fires were very comforting and the olde world timber beams of this former coaching house made it a very pleasant environment.

Food was OK. Although breakfast was claimed to be cooked fresh to order, the sausages were quite cool and the fried eggs very rubbery. Next day scrambled eggs ordered, which were very nice.

With a little more attention to detail, this could be a great little hotel. The dead flowers left on the table and the light fittings in the bedroom that had not been dusted for a very long time detracted somewhat.

The location is excellent for visiting Oxford and the surrounding area, and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Great hotel from the minute we arrived untill the minute we left we had nothing but happy and friendly service. Stayed in the dorcherstor suite just needed a few little up dates but was lovely accommodation . Would deffiently go back .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just had a two night stay in this lovely hotel. The location was ideal for visiting Oxford and the surounding area. The log fire in the bar was very welcome as the weather was cold and wet. Staff were very friendly, the room very comfy and the restaurant food excellent. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Address: 26 High Street, Dorchester-on-Thames OX10 7HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Dorchester-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dorchester-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Hotel dates back to 1691 and is situated in the "chocolate box" village of Dorchester on Thames in Oxfordshire. The hotel's 28 bedrooms retain all the character of the old coaching inn whilst providing the requirements for today's modern traveller. The restaurant has been awarded an AA Rosette for fresh food dining and offers a delicious a la carte menu as well as a 3 course fixed price Market Menu. Car Parking is free and CCTV monitored. Dorchester on Thames nestles on the banks of the Thames between Henley and Oxford and is an ideal starting point for visits to Oxford City, Blenheim Palace, the Thames Pathway, Bicester Designer Shopping Village, and many Stately Homes and Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel White Hart
White Hart Hotel Dorchester-On-Thames, Oxfordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Hart Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.