We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Cute' historic inn in picturesque english village” 4 of 5 stars
Review of George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thames

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thames to your Saves list
George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thames
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Dorchester-on-Thames OX10 7HH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Surrey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“'Cute' historic inn in picturesque english village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in this 500 year old pub/inn..

Very friendly staff and manager ..

Stayed in room 2 which was massive and overlooked the Abbey and main road .. however no traffic noise to worry about as the village is so small..

400 films on offer if you hired the dvd - a reasonable £3 per film..

Breakfast was great , usual stuff plus a full english on offer but quite happy to chop n change ie i had a bacon butty ..

This place was far the busiest of the 3 pubs here - i tried to get a table for dinner but it was full - that tells you all you need to know - i cant blame the locals going for the £2.20 pint during happy hour - 5 to 7 ...

I paid £70 per night including breakfast which was very good value ..

Well done all concerned ...

Ps had fish n chips for 2 in the White Hart over the road .. £24 for two with a drink ... frankly i've had better at Wetherspoons .. i didn't know that pub was part of a hotel chain as wouldn't of bothered ... soulless ..

Room Tip: Ask for room 2 !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    54
    27
    15
    14
See reviews for
17
70
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend as we were going to a wedding close by.
The room was very characterful and pleasent enough for the price. Definately nothing fancy but clean and tidy.
A real shame they have neglected the outside space so there was no where nice to sit in the sun and enjoy a coffee or a wine.
The bar was friendly and staff very helpful.
Fabulous full English breakfast the next morning.
Wouldn't choose to saty for more than an overnighter but was fine for the one night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utila, Honduras
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
307 helpful votes 307 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

a pretty five hundred year old coaching inn with all the quirks you'd expect of such an old establishment. twenty or so rooms, a restaurant and a pub, all presided over by a pleasant (and very hard working) innkeeper and a very small staff.
the rooms are pleasant, nothing fancy but decent, the pub is lovely (a good place to meet the locals) and the food (especially lunch) was nice.
we were in the area for a wedding and we wished we had stayed more than two nights. the little town is beautiful and the area is picture postcard english countryside at its best, well worth exploring.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just back from stopping in this Hotel, it was excellent....The staff were so friendly.and could'nt do enough for us....Thanks you's all very much....Real old fashioned place in a lovely town,slept really well...and breakfast was brill at no extra cost....

Room Tip: My Grandson is on crutches at the moment,and they changed our room to a down stair's one,so he d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had stayed 2 nights at another hotel locally and fancied a coffee after a walk by the river. We were directed to seats that were so filthy I decided to look inside for a table despite it being a beautiful day. The entrance to the hotel from the garden passes the kitchen and the carpet was black with grease - I turned round and went to the White Hart.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dorchester-on-Thames hotels

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We booked into The George as an alternative to the plush Crazy Bear 5 miles away in Stadhampton that was fully booked (we were having an anniversary dinner there). It wasn't our first choice, but came up as one of the closest to our first choice, when googling hotels in the area.
The hotel was fine, room a decent size and good sized bathroom. The hotel room décor was a little tired and dated and could have done with a lick of paint. The windowsill was covered in cobwebs and spiders. The included breakfast provided a good selection of full English and continental options.
The town is very very quite, so unless you're happy to drink at The George or one of the only 2 other pubs in the area, you'll need to drive elsewhere.
Bells from the opposite Abbey rang out every 15 minutes overnight, so if you're a light sleeper, you need earplugs!
Not sure I'd stay again, purely location wise but it was perfectly fine for us and served it's purpose in the best way it could.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We only stayed one night in this fabulous Quirky hotel, our room was room number 10 situated up a small staicase on the outside of this wonderful building. The room was not enormous but adequate, the ensuite showeroom housed a walk in size shower, maybe could have reduced the size of the shower cubicle to allow for more room for other things. Thge breakfast on Sunday morning was excellent a buffet style with sometning for everyone you can even order fresh eggs served as you like by such friendly, happy staff.
Located in what I can only describe as a village lost in the time vortex. Such a lovely quintessential English village, the fabulous oversized abbey used as the local parish church dominates the high street. There are walks signposted to the Thames and other routes.

Room Tip: We requested twin beds rather than a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thames

Address: High Street, Dorchester-on-Thames OX10 7HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Dorchester-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dorchester-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thames 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Dorchester On Thames
George Hotel Dorchester-On-Thames Oxfordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thames, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.