We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So bad we didn't stop for a coffee” 1 of 5 stars
Review of George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thames

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thames to your Saves list
George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thames
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Dorchester-on-Thames OX10 7HH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“So bad we didn't stop for a coffee”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had stayed 2 nights at another hotel locally and fancied a coffee after a walk by the river. We were directed to seats that were so filthy I decided to look inside for a table despite it being a beautiful day. The entrance to the hotel from the garden passes the kitchen and the carpet was black with grease - I turned round and went to the White Hart.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    61
    28
    18
    16
See reviews for
19
79
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We booked into The George as an alternative to the plush Crazy Bear 5 miles away in Stadhampton that was fully booked (we were having an anniversary dinner there). It wasn't our first choice, but came up as one of the closest to our first choice, when googling hotels in the area.
The hotel was fine, room a decent size and good sized bathroom. The hotel room décor was a little tired and dated and could have done with a lick of paint. The windowsill was covered in cobwebs and spiders. The included breakfast provided a good selection of full English and continental options.
The town is very very quite, so unless you're happy to drink at The George or one of the only 2 other pubs in the area, you'll need to drive elsewhere.
Bells from the opposite Abbey rang out every 15 minutes overnight, so if you're a light sleeper, you need earplugs!
Not sure I'd stay again, purely location wise but it was perfectly fine for us and served it's purpose in the best way it could.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We only stayed one night in this fabulous Quirky hotel, our room was room number 10 situated up a small staicase on the outside of this wonderful building. The room was not enormous but adequate, the ensuite showeroom housed a walk in size shower, maybe could have reduced the size of the shower cubicle to allow for more room for other things. Thge breakfast on Sunday morning was excellent a buffet style with sometning for everyone you can even order fresh eggs served as you like by such friendly, happy staff.
Located in what I can only describe as a village lost in the time vortex. Such a lovely quintessential English village, the fabulous oversized abbey used as the local parish church dominates the high street. There are walks signposted to the Thames and other routes.

Room Tip: We requested twin beds rather than a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

A very romantic place. A perfect large room with a flawlessly clean shower which looked as if it was absolutely new.
Although we visited the place on very cold days, the room was warm and we felt very comfortable. We enjoyed a very English style of the hotel and the pub.
The breakfast was well served and there was a pleasant variety of food choices. The staff were friendly and unobtrusive at the same time.
The hotel offers a good combination of authentic Englishness and very comfortable conditions at the same time. No wonder, they've got plenty of "Thank you" cards from their visitors at the reception desk.
We enjoyed the stay very much! Moreover, we hope to return here next year.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I organised a party of five for a lunch at the George. the food was OK without being special.

What was staggering was the poverty of the service. The meal - without many customers around - came after an hour. Everything came without joy or a smile. The blond who doubled reception with waitressing had probably lacked any serious training. It is simply staggering that such a place should present itself so badly.

Room Tip: Probably don't expect a meal soon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dorchester-on-Thames hotels

London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The hotel looked lovely, and we were genuinely looking forward to staying here... Unfortunately we arrived on the hottest day of the year and checked in to room 12 where we were surprised to find that the door to the room was propped open and soon discovered the reason... the windows didn't open! I know this is an old coaching inn and the renovation style is lovely but after 30 minutes in the room with the door shut we realised there was no way we'd be able to stay there overnight... it was very hot, we were both sweating and we wouldn't have got a wink of sleep! Staff were very nice but unable to help as the hotel was full, but they were happy for us to check out and find another hotel which was reasonable of them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows that open if this matters to you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Nice old hotel in a small English village. Pub was good and busy, breakfast was fast and filling, rooms have character as this is a very, very old coaching inn. Nicely remodeled to maintain interesting character, just need to watch the low beams if you are over 6 feet tall ;)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thames

Address: High Street, Dorchester-on-Thames OX10 7HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Dorchester-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dorchester-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thames 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Dorchester On Thames
George Hotel Dorchester-On-Thames Oxfordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thames, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.