We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Stay Here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of White Rose Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added White Rose Hotel to your Saves list
White Rose Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Main Street, Askrigg, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3HG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Askrigg B&B and Inns
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Do Not Stay Here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

To say it is the worst experience encountered is an understatement, The owners both of them were extremely rude and ignorant, there was quite a few of us and the place would have been empty had we not been there they should have been grateful for the income. they should not be allowed to operate as a cafe never mind a hotel. There was no water to the top floor to have a shower in the morning, the rooms were small and the TV's only worked on 2 channels. The landlady would allow the locals to drink and be rowdy until 4.00am keeping all the guests awake, she even allowed them to smoke in the pool table area (pretty sure theres a law against after hours drinking when not a resident of the hotel also against the law to smoke in a public building). i would advise everyone to give this place a wide berth.

Room Tip: a room in the B&B down the road would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    27
    18
    6
    13
See reviews for
8
44
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hyde, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Not the best place to stay in the Yorkshire dales, Woman on reception had such a can not be bothered attitude, like we was intruding on her time. Food was very over priced. Lamb Shank dinner £14.00. Then the following morning the breakfast was very basic. Bedroom was like something from 1984. small portable tv with no remote, just dials, and volume control did not work. For smokers it was a bit of a mission to get out early in the morning. Never stayed at a B&B where you had to hand the key in at reception if we wanted to nip out in the evening. If anybody would like to stay in this area I would strongly advise you travel a further 5 miles up the road to a little town called Hawes. Finally Wi-Fi. I asked a guy at reception/bar if they had Wi-Fi, his reply was "We do, but it's ours"

Room Tip: read the reviews on this website first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

From the minute we stepped in the door an awful experience. Owner was very rude and unwelcoming, food disgusting having waited an hour for it. B'fast was appaling as waitress was rude, not only to our face but by shouting rude comments about us to the kitchen staff as she left the restaurant. The good comments on Trip advisor seem to relate to the previous owners. The AA 4* rating must apply to the previous owners . i only chose this B&B as it took dogs and didnt check on Trip Advisor before I booked-big mistake.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed here last weekend and it was great for us. Room 1 was huge, plenty of space for us and the little ones, and the bed was soooo comfy! It was spotlessly clean, as was all the hotel.
We enjoyed an afternoon in the sunny beer garden followed by a family dinner in the restaurant. The food and drink were great quality and the service was good. Full marks for breakfast the next morning too.
We really enjoyed our stay at the White Rose and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Room 1 is spacious and has a large king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

The welcome at this hotel was miserable. Woman at reception ( turned out to be the owner) was not interested in welcoming us. I asked if we could have some glasses, I was told to look in the toilet and if there weren't any to use cups! I had to go back down as the toilet was equipped for 2 and there were three of us in the rrom. Says AA 4 star on wall. Absolutely not. More like a 2 star hotel. We had to book a time for dinner. This was 7pm. Food arrived one hour after ordering and not a busy restaurant. Food is average and certainly not 4 star.

Owner spent the evening sitting on her bar stool craning her neck through the bar door to stare at us in the bar.

Breakfast experience was shocking. Waitress rude to say the least. Very uncomfortable and embarrasing stay. We were supposed to stay 2 nights but cancelled the second night. Do not stay at this hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

yes - the landlady can be a bit brusque which takes time to get used to but she was helpful when asked and the food and rooms were great. Could do with an upgrade of the tv which was outdated and didnt really work well but roooms were large, claen and comfortable. the bar and food were great and the staff all friendly. think the rooms are slightly overpriced but spent a lovely new years weekend in askrigg and would go again

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Further to previous Reviews commenting on the negative attitude of the Landlady, I have to say the same applies to her husband/partner. No welcome whatsoever and seemed to resent having to leave his laptop to serve me a pint. Things only got worse when she made an appearance, but at least they are well-matched! Avoid this place if you are looking for traditional Yorkshire hospitality.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Rose Hotel

Address: Main Street, Askrigg, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Askrigg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Askrigg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — White Rose Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run hotel with real ales and freshly cooked local produce where available. Our hotel is in a prime location to tour or walk from. There are many local attraction, including Wensleydale creamery, The Ropeworks, Wensleydale Railway, Gale Mill and may more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your White Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Rose Hotel Askrigg, North Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Rose Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.