We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, warm, friendly place - amazing breakfasts.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holmedale Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Askrigg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holmedale Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Holmedale Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Main Street, Askrigg, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3HT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Askrigg B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful, warm, friendly place - amazing breakfasts.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

My husband and I stayed here while I was pregnant heavily pregnant as a final holiday before our baby arrived.
We both found the hospitality brilliant, from the very warm welcome to advice on local restaurants and things to do. The breakfasts were great and catered especially for my pregnant and vegetarian needs. The fresh eggs were amazing as was the granola.
What was most special about our stay was the family feel, it was lovely to stay here. We will certainly go back and stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

We stayed at Holmedale last week and what a wonderful Bed and Breakfast in an amazing location!!! We stayed for a few days and it was fantastic. Helen and Ben are such lovely hosts and very accomodating to our needs, they recommended some fantastic walks and great places to eat! The best being the Fish and Chips on a Wednesday night!!!
There was so much choice on the breakfast menu we wished we could have stayed longer to try everything but the Granola is a must and the Pancakes with Bacon and maple syrup are extra special!!!!
Our room was so spacious and I've never seen and slept in such a big, comfortable bed. All the facilities we needed were there and the shower was lovely, which is a must.
I would highly recommend Askrigg and Holmedale to anyone wanting a relaxing, comfortable break away, just wonderful!! Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Wonderful welcome, great hospitality and fab rooms! Breakfast was great too! Definitely stay here!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

A nice welcome from the start, the room was comfortable and spacious and clean bar for a few cobwebs on the beams. The breakfast was taken in an informal room next to the kitchen which made it feel like a family breakfast together as the hosts served and jack there small boy came in and out, a good variety for breakfast very good quality and something different to try each day.To sum it up a friendly family run laid back and caring b&b and yes we would go back.
As for eating in Askrigg you are better of going into Hawes for friendly pubs and variety,avoid the Crown at Bainbrige as i found a large chunk of plastic in my food and they didnt seem to bothered.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppermill, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

If you're looking to stay in the Askrigg area, you must stay at Holmedale. It is the perfect B&B. We came to stay for a 2 night break away and with the warm welcome we received from Helen and Ben, we felt instantly at home. The house is beautifully decorated, and extremely clean. We stayed in the St Oswald Room which was just fabulous. A massive bed, and a good, powerful shower in the en-suite. Breakfast is definitely something to look forward to. Lots of choice (the Yorkshire Dales Breaskfast and the Pancakes with bacon and maple syrup are fabulous), and all of it of a very high quality. Askrigg a picture perect little village, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We've already recommended Holmedale to all of our friends and family, so if you want to go, book quick ;-)

We ate at the Kings Arms in Askrigg on one night, and can recommend that too!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

We stayed at Holmedale with friends for a weekend away from everything.

Having not been to the Dales for 20 years I'd forgotten how beautiful the area was and wasn't disappointed when we arrived.

Holmedale itself is a gem of a B&B. It's spacious, yet cosy, rustic from the outside yet clean and contemporary inside. The room we stayed in had a huge bed which made for a cracking night's sleep. The breakfast(s) were superb and tasted like they GENUINELY were made with local produce.

Helen & Ben are very friendly and accomodating.

All in all a great stop in the Dales that we will definitely return to on our next trip up this way.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

From the moment we arrived, and it was an early start, we were welcomed into this gorgeous house by Helen who showed us to our room and made sure everything was perfect and lovely. We were travelling for a wedding and stopping for just the one night. The room was comfortable and had plenty of facilities, exceptionally clean and well presented.
Breakfast was delicious, the Dales Breakfast was lovely and black pudding to die for. The bacon and pancakes was something new for me to try and were scrumptious.
We had a brilliant time at the wedding, a great nights sleep and a breakfast to help cure any hangover.
Many thanks for a wonderful stay, and should we come back then I know where I will be booking into!
all the best and Christmas Wishes
Roger and Pete

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holmedale Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmedale Bed and Breakfast

Address: Main Street, Askrigg, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Askrigg
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Askrigg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm friendly Yorkshire welcome awaits you at Holmedale where we will greet you with genuine Yorkshire hospitality and good traditional homecooked local food. An informal and comfortable relaxing atmosphere is offered during your stay here in the Dales.Holmedale has recently been refurbished to a high standard maintaining a vast amount of original features including a stunning wood paneled hallway and large spacious rooms but adapted to meet modern requirements including luxurious en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holmedale Bed And Breakfast Askrigg, North Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holmedale Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.