We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holmedale Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Askrigg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holmedale Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Holmedale Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Main Street, Askrigg, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3HT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Askrigg B&B and Inns
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Cannot fault the place one bit, we were made to feel welcome as soon as we walked in. We stayed in the St Oswald room which was massive and decorated tastefully. Breakfast was fantastic, big and sets you up for the rest of the day (best scrambled eggs I've ever had!), brilliant hosts, can't recommend it highly enough

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

One of the best B&Bs we have stayed in. It snowed just after we arrived, but sadly we did not get snowed in and had to return to work!
Fabulous hosts, great breakfast, lovely room, nice pubs in Askrigg, friendly locals - we'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This B&B is top class . This family friendly house is full of character, is warm, clean and the hosts are one of a kind. Without question this family helped us out of a quagmire, undoubtedly placing themselves second. The breakfast menu beats most London hotels scoring four stars! And the views are to die for.
I would recommend this business to all, and certainly a bench mark for all B&B and hotel businesses.

Room Tip: Swaledale room is fantastic for children and parents
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YOrk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have stayed at Holmedale for the last three years and love it. This is the best B&B we have stayed in. The rooms arenicly furnished, spacious and clean. Helen and Ben (and the boys) are wonderful - extremley friendly and cannot do enough for you. We have celebrated a couple of birthday's here and Helen is always very happy to buy/arrange something special. The breakfast's are first class. The homemade granola is to die for and the cooked breakfasts are just scrumptious. This B&B is perfect in everyway.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here with friends for 3 nights and it was fantastic. We couldnt have asked for anything more. The breakfasts are to die for, superbly cooked and a great selection of dishes. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huglfing, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was our first stay at Holmedale B & B, and we enjoyed it very much. The room (Swaledale) was cozy and comfortable, the breakfast terrific, and the Dalton family a pleasure to get to know. We can heartily recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is the sort of place that gives British B&B a good name; welcoming, clean and very comfortable. The St Oswald room is large and airy, nicely furnished and decorated with a huge bed and excellent shower. For breakfast there is the choice of the usual English breakfast or a number of lighter options, all with top quality ingredients cooked properly. Helen was really helpful with bits of local advice and encouraged us to buy fish and chips from the van when it came on Wednesday, allowing us to use the dining room and putting our wine in the fridge. Askrigg is a great base for exploring the Dales on foot, with a choice of reasonable places to eat and buy sandwiches etc. We rarely return to the same place for holidays but are planning to come back to Holmedale sometime.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holmedale Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmedale Bed and Breakfast

Address: Main Street, Askrigg, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Askrigg
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Askrigg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm friendly Yorkshire welcome awaits you at Holmedale where we will greet you with genuine Yorkshire hospitality and good traditional homecooked local food. An informal and comfortable relaxing atmosphere is offered during your stay here in the Dales.Holmedale has recently been refurbished to a high standard maintaining a vast amount of original features including a stunning wood paneled hallway and large spacious rooms but adapted to meet modern requirements including luxurious en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holmedale Bed And Breakfast Askrigg, North Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holmedale Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.