We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb B & B with a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holmedale Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Askrigg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holmedale Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Holmedale Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Main Street, Askrigg, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3HT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Askrigg B&B and Inns
Orpington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A superb B & B with a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is the sort of place that gives British B&B a good name; welcoming, clean and very comfortable. The St Oswald room is large and airy, nicely furnished and decorated with a huge bed and excellent shower. For breakfast there is the choice of the usual English breakfast or a number of lighter options, all with top quality ingredients cooked properly. Helen was really helpful with bits of local advice and encouraged us to buy fish and chips from the van when it came on Wednesday, allowing us to use the dining room and putting our wine in the fridge. Askrigg is a great base for exploring the Dales on foot, with a choice of reasonable places to eat and buy sandwiches etc. We rarely return to the same place for holidays but are planning to come back to Holmedale sometime.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Faversham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

What a fabulous place, clean, warm, and very friendly. We stayed a week, i had The Dales Breakfast every morning, my wife tried The Dales Breakfast, Luxury Porridge and the Cheesy croissants, she couldn't decide which was her favourite. We stayed in the St Oswald room, which was a very large room with a huge comfy bed, had to move to the Swaledale room for our last 3 nights(St Oswald was already booked when we booked), this was a smaller room with a double bed, but was equally as comfortable, The house was lovely and warm and there was always plenty of hot water for showers. We took Helens advice and ate at The Crown Inn on our first night, which proved to be very good and reasonably prices, we also ate at The White Rose in the village, again, good food but slightly more pricey. We really enjoyed our stay, Helen, Ben and their 2 boys were so friendly, we felt as though we had known them for years. Ben was left to run things for 1 night whilst Helen was away, the standards didn't slip at all and he didnt burn anything as he feared he might do! This would be our first choice on a subsequent visit to the Dales. Thank you Helen, Ben and their Boys for making our stay with them so enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, Cambridgeshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

My wife booked this B&B as a birthday weekend away and we were certainly not disappointed. We received such a warm welcome from Helen on arrival and were shown to our room (St Oswalds) which was very large, had a massive comfy bed and a lovely en-suite shower room.
Breakfast is served in the breakfast room (naturally), just off the family kitchen. A great selection of juices, cereals, great bread for toasting and the most amazing cooked breakfasts - try the pancakes - they are wonderful :)

We stayed at Holmedale for 3 nights, so had a chance to try each of the village pubs/hotels. Best , we found was the Crown inn, simply because of the friendly owners and the great simple food. The Kings Arms was very nice for a birthday treat, but was a little lacking in atmosphere. The White Rose was our third choice and also lacked atmosphere. Food was very good at all three places, so there are no really bad choices, just select to suit your mood.

Askrigg is such a beautiful and friendly village, we had a wonderful time and cannot wait to return. Needless to say, Holmedale will be our first choice for accommodation.

Room Tip: The bed in the St Oswald room is just soooooo comfortable - the best night's sleep I've ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

What a fantastic weekend! Such a warm welcome from Ben & Helen & their two boys. The weather when we arrived was a bit nippy but our room was cosy and clean & warm. We slept like logs in a really comfy bed and started the first day with Helen's big, everything-in-it Yorkshire Dales breakfast. Beautifully cooked and so tasty. A great day out following Helen's recommendations of walking the Ingleton Waterfalls trail and then visiting the Wensleydale creamery in Hawes before returning for a meal in one of the excellent Askrigg hostelries. Day 2 had us undecided. Should we have another Dales breakfast or try something different? We opted for scrambled eggs and smoked salmon (MMmmm. Delicious!) before setting off in glorious sunshine to visit Aysgarth and then drive over the tops to Swaledale. Helen & Ben, thank you so much for a wonderful weekend. Esperamos verte pronto de nuevo. A bientot! Encarnacion & Martyn

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012 via mobile

Had a great time, very relaxed atmosphere, lovely rooms, very clean, close to everything we wanted, good pubs, good food, great walks. Breakfasts cooked to order to a very high standard. We'll definitley be going again! Little gem.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Cannot speak highly enough of this B&B - we had a family room sleeping four comfortably, really clean and great bathroom, but the breakfasts ... absolutely brilliant, the pancakes and fruit salad were divine, as was the smoked salmon and bagels, as was the full english. Helen is lovely and couldn't have done more, from storing our cheeses in her fridge to supplying an ice pack to recommending the most gorgeous walk from Muker to Keld. Helen, thank you so much!

The location is just perfect if you are looking for a holiday in the Dales, just perfect!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Just back from our second stay at Holmedale. A great B&B; clean, well-decorated rooms, incredible breakfast menu (granola with Greek yoghurt and honey is the best). Book, go and enjoy!

Room Tip: Family room sleeps two adults and two children in comfort at the top of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holmedale Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmedale Bed and Breakfast

Address: Main Street, Askrigg, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Askrigg
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Askrigg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm friendly Yorkshire welcome awaits you at Holmedale where we will greet you with genuine Yorkshire hospitality and good traditional homecooked local food. An informal and comfortable relaxing atmosphere is offered during your stay here in the Dales.Holmedale has recently been refurbished to a high standard maintaining a vast amount of original features including a stunning wood paneled hallway and large spacious rooms but adapted to meet modern requirements including luxurious en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holmedale Bed And Breakfast Askrigg, North Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holmedale Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.