We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hadrian would have wanted to stay here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saughy Rigg Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haltwhistle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Saughy Rigg Farm
Twice Brewed, Haltwhistle NE49 9PT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 16 Haltwhistle B&B and Inns
Victoria, BC, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Hadrian would have wanted to stay here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Spent a night here while walking the Wall. The room, itself, was plain but clean and comfortable, all you really need after a hard day's walk. And they come to the Wall to pick you up if you find that last mile too much to cover. With a cozy bar and an excellent restaurant, Hadrian might have thought to build the Wall to their front door.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    42
    19
    11
    5
See reviews for
19
54
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Stockton on Tees
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We hired the full farmhouse as self catering from Friday to Sunday, this was for 36 people to celebrate my husband and I's Silver Wedding Anniversary, our daughters 21st and 18th birthdays. We had family friends from allover the country. Infact our daughter is currently working in Berlin so she had travelled from there for the party and our friends came from Holland with their baby. The age range was 74 to 10 months old, everyone was comfortable in the lovely big farmhouse, we had the whole use of the living room, games room. bar, diningroom, kitchen and all the bedrooms. There was plenty of space for everyone to do what they wanted to do when they wanted to. All the kids had ipads and gadgets that they all connected to the internet with ease. We catered for ourselves all weekend apart from the Saturday night when Sian provided a buffet, it was beautiful, everyone commented on just how tasty it was. All the bedrooms were clean comfortable and had lovely views. Most of us went for a walk along Hadrains Wall on Saturday, the location of the farmhouse if fantasic, for a stroll or a hike. We could not have been happier at Saughy Rigg, we had games, quizes, we played lots of loud music and danced the night away it was superb, there aren't any neighbours so noise isn't a problem. The full use of the bar was great, along with the ice machine and coffee machine, which I don't think had a rest all weekend, everyone loved it. Sian and Shaun who run Saughy Rigg could not have been any more helpful, I did have to ask for a couple of things and Shaun was so helpful and freindly. I would really recommend hiring the whole place for a large party, the only downside was having to leave on Sunday afternoon! We hope to be back to visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My son and I stayed here for 1 night whilst walking Hadrians Wall, we were welcomed with a large pot of tea, our room was very comfy and clean, with a view of a beautiful horse in the field behind. Dinner was the best of our trip. There was the opportunity of a lift up to the trail in the morning. This place was certainly a bright diamond after walking the hills during the day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights on my recent walking tour of Hadrian's Wall. Friendly and helpful staff, a comfortable room and really nice food, particularly the super breakfasts. A very well appointed lounge and a bar with lots of local beers to try.Everything one could want when arriving back after walking strenuous hillsides.
Sean would run you to and from the trail or local museums each day, which was really helpful.
A great place to stop!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at the neighbouring farm,Gibbs Hill farm,where dinner was no longer available,but an arrangement was made to bus us the couple of miles or so there and back.Not far,but in the dark on poor roads,walking was not a real choice.
You arrive in a farm yard to turn the corner and find a brand new glass extension that is a restaurant. Very modern with a bar inside.Very informal and family run but,the staff were lovely and friendly and the food was absoloutly fab,in fact it was so good we went back the next night.All 5 of us enjoyed our individual meals thoroughly and were unanimous in our praise of the place,

Room Tip: we didn't stay at this place ,so can't comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night while walking Hadrian's Wall. We were welcomed by Sean who took our bags to our room then went downstairs to organise tea and cake for us. There is a lovely comfy lounge, games room with pool table and Wii, small but well stocked bar and dining area.

Food was amazing and all the staff were friendly and made you feel at home here, thanks to Charlotte especially for putting up with us taking over the dining room with a group of Americans who were having a birthday celebration. Fun times !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Located about 3/4 of a mile off Hadrian's Wall, this B&B at what was a moorland farm and out buildings was comfortable. We were picked up by the proprietor from the nearby Steel Rigg car park and taken back to the B&B. Our room was comfortable and came with all the usual stuff (tea and coffee, hairdryer, flat screen TV etc) The best thing about our stay though was the food - it was of an exceptionally high standard, both the evening meal and breakfast the next morning. The staff were all helpful and very cheery. One small gripe was the lack of choice at the bar - I do like to try a local ale or two when visiting somewhere new and was offered a choice of one bottled local beer... After breakfast we were delivered back to Hadrian's Wall to continue our trek.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Saughy Rigg Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saughy Rigg Farm

Address: Twice Brewed, Haltwhistle NE49 9PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Haltwhistle
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Haltwhistle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Saughy Rigg Farm Hotel Haltwhistle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saughy Rigg Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Saughy Rigg Farm to your Saves list