We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friday lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boat Inn

The Boat Inn
Wnitney On Wye, Whitney-on-Wye, England
01497831223
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Friday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

took my mum out for lunch following a shopping trip in Hereford.
Pub was as usual clean and tidy. The landlord is a bit of a character.
Food and service was without fault, I failed to get to dessert.
This pub continues to deliver each time I visit it plus who can fault sitting looking out on the river Wye

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    20
    11
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very friendly local pub with good grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Visited late on Friday night to a warm welcome and good food at reasonable prices. Large portions. Dog friendly and very accommodating staff. It was dark but we could see the lovely little river at the side of the pub- it would be perfect on a summers day. Would definitely recommend to anyone in the area if you want a good pint and some pub grub served by friendly locals.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“First class!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

We called for a meal here on Monday evening, the choice on the menu is very good, very pleasant staff, and the food was excellent . I had the salmon and it was a big portion, served with a choice of salad or vegetables and different option of potatoes, my husband had the pork chop, 2 large chops !! We had no space for desserts but they also looked generous portions.
The main courses were approx £10 each and very good value.
We will certainly be back soon......

  • Visited December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Spoiled for choice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

All restaurants have menus and, if you are like me, you can usually find a couple of three things you might like to scoff. Well, if you can whittle this lot down to fewer than fifteen "possibles" you must be a fussy eater! Everything appealed and everything delivered.

It floated our boat - had to go two nights running to do it justice!!

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presteigne, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“You can't go hungry!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014 via mobile

The food is so yummy (: I'm a coeliac and there is so much to choose from that's gluten free, and if you can't see anything you fancy, or want a dish that contains gluten they go out of their was to try and make a gluten free version for you. Everything is cooked fresh and it's worth it, my faves are the steak strips starter and the thai green prawn curry main (: so lovely (: highly recommend!

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boat Inn also viewed

Clifford, Herefordshire
Eardisley, Herefordshire
 
Whitney-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Winforton, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Boat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boat Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.