We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, Great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boat Inn

The Boat Inn
Wnitney On Wye, Whitney-on-Wye, England
01497831223
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kington, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have eaten here a few times and always have an great and filling meal. The Rib eye steak is highly recommended but not for the fainthearted...its huge! and always cooked exactly as ordered. The view up the river is wonderful too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    20
    11
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Keep paddling...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We intended to stop for lunch on a sunny Saturday. A group of 12 (6 couples) we were looking forward to a few beers and some decent food. Sadly it was obvious that being a lowly tourist (and an English one at that) we were not welcome. Having to walk around the pub (canoeists are forbidden from entering via the beer garden into the lounge bar) I was greeted by who I assume to be the landlord with a gruff "whose picking you up?" Following a few further comments that made it clear our money was not really wanted we jumped back in to our canoes and paddled on. I remain staggered that any business would turn away easy money. If you are a tourist cycling, canoeing or walking along beautiful wye I would pop to the farm shop opposite buy a scotch egg and keep going for a quiet spot on the bank.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Went to the Boat Inn after a day's canoeing down the Wye. No space inside, so had to sit outside on the terrace overlooking the river: OK, given the time of year / day & weather. Very extensive range of food options (starters, mains & desserts), service was quick & friendly, and food quality was fine, but nothing fantastic.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stopped here to be collected on a canoeing trip and it was a decent place to have food and drink and look out over the river

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food, good service..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I really like this pub. I stayed at the camp site outside and just turned up with a mass of adults and kids. We had a bit of a faff with table space, which I consider my own fault for not booking in advance, but the staff looked after us really well.

This isn't the sort of place to take your other half for that special anniversary meal, but for hearty pub grub while passing by, camping or staying in the B&B next door it is perfect.

The menu is massive, the steaks are huge and the pub has Doom Bar on tap which works for me. The place is right next to the river Wye so you can sit outside and watch some fantastic scenery.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boat Inn also viewed

Clifford, Herefordshire
Eardisley, Herefordshire
 
Whitney-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Winforton, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Boat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boat Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.