We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break at New Inn 21-23/6/14” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Inn at Brilley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added New Inn at Brilley to your Saves list
New Inn at Brilley
Brilley, Whitney-on-Wye HR3 6HE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Weekend Break at New Inn 21-23/6/14”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

What a wonderfully warm and welcoming host Daphne is... Just returned from a relaxing mini break at the New Inn this weekend. Daphne could not have been more helpful and friendly. Our bedroom - the yellow room - felt like a haven and the atmosphere was one of tranquility and peace.

Daphne's breakfast (we enjoyed two of them) were out of this world. The eggs freshly laid from her own chickens, delicious home made yoghurt and fresh fruit salad, jams, marmalade and toast, croissants, coffee - a breakfast to set us up for the day on the Sunday when we spent the day walking up to Hay Bluff ....

In fact we have had such a lovely time that we have changed our original honeymoon destination in September and are now returning to this very special little hideaway instead ..... Cannot wait ...

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne T, Owner at New Inn at Brilley, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
It has been delightful having you both here.. Happy you are coming back, lovely to share this place with you
Meanwhile enjoy a wonderful summer and see you soon
Daphne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
40
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Daphne, the hostess, did not know who we were when we arrived, when we told her she did not know what 'room' we were in, and seemed a bit sleepy. She had us follow her across overgrown fields and muddy slippery 'pathways' to the wagon, when she opened the wagon up, she proceeded to take a Doyle from one of the bureaus and flick off dirt from the wagons surfaces. The compost toilet was absolutely disgusting, no effort had been made with the piles of sawdust around the site to cover up previous occupants waste, it smelt and looked obscene. the bed was only 5ft in length, and rock hard, so we were unable to sleep on it, tried the rolled up mattress on the floor and it was covered in dog hair and rock hard as well. there were mice droppings all over the kitchen, although it was out side, but measures could have been taken to limit this, and had a cock roach get stuck in a melted tea light in the night. The location and the setting is a good idea, very peaceful, but after about an hour of us being there, the hostess decided to start strimming the over grown grass by the main house, with a petrol strimmer, this went on for quite some time, so we decided to go out to get some peace. we ended up leaving after the second night as just could not sleep on a bed too short and the smell from the toilet was awful. We think, if it was pitched as a camp site at £10 pppn would be more suitable.

Room Tip: take a tent and a blow up mattress
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne T, Owner at New Inn at Brilley, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
I am so sorry that you are so bitter of your experience here, obviously did not enjoy your stay.
The bed is small 5' 10", the toilet is compost, and due to the still high water level, there is water in the dug trench, because we are experiencing constant rain and the water is recycling, force of nature...... and it does not smell, yes after rain some parts of the path does get muddy and slippery, and the overgrown grass is a meadow of buttercups now. Thank you for finding the view stunning.
I think as I remember it you are big people. You would probably have the same bed size problem if you were to chose a Gypsy Caravan or the similar.
Most of those that came to the Wagon before you and after you have loved it, in fact the reviews you may read reflect that.
We have to accept that one thing is not for everyone, and as many people as there is out there , there are so many opinions, so our own opinion is not the ultimate.
What I can say is that I am sorry you did not enjoy your time in the Wagon.
My intention is to do my utmost to make every possible effort to offer a space enjoyable to my Guests, however it is beyond my power to make everyone 'happy'....
All the very best to you always
Daphne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

A very special place which we would recommend to anyone in need of peace and tranquility and the time to lift the heart and warm the spirit. No frills or Full English here. Fresh free range eggs anyway you like with homemade yoghurt, jams together with lovely cereals and croissants. A wonderful hostess in Daphne who is happy to accommodate to meet your own schedule and a sense of humour to match. Just one word of warning though -don't forget to duck when you go in for breakfast - 400 year old beams are very unforgiving. We were visiting the Hay festival and location at about 4 miles away was pretty good.
Thanks for a lovely stay Daphne. Would love to have time for the meditation next time.
Pam and John

Room Tip: The yellow room on the top floor was lovely but had a narrow windy staircase To it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Our dog was as warmly welcomed as we were, A word of caution - if you have the yellow room, make sure you have a dog small enough to be carried as the stairs are steep and narrow !! Best scrambled eggs I've ever had- must be the freshness from the hens. Thank you Daphne for such a peaceful stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne T, Owner at New Inn at Brilley, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
It has been a real joy having you all three here, however I must confess, Doodle captured my heart, she is an old soul...
All the very best
Daphne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The New Inn is just a beautiful place! As soon as my husband and I arrived, the first thing that struck us was the peace. The area is so lovely, but the peace is enhanced by the wonderful host, Daphne, who is the most welcoming, calm person I've ever met.

The area of Brilly is beautiful, but I would go back just to stay at the New Inn, to experience the peace of the place, and of course the gorgeous breakfast of home-made yoghurt, home-made jam and freshly laid eggs. The accommodation is beautiful - from another time, quirky and interesting - even the locks on the bedroom doors add to the quirkiness, although I didn't feel a need to lock the door!

There is internet access, but if you really want the power shower and TV then this is not for you. Visit with an open mind and an open heart and enjoy the peace.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne T, Owner at New Inn at Brilley, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, well it really makes me happy when guests can allow themselves to enjoy.. it is true one has to have the open heart to see beyond the set of restrictions we have set for ourselves...

And if one feels the peace that surrounds, that is what touches me most

Peace ... and peace within oneself is essential for love to grow ....

Lots Love

Daphne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Me and my wife were attending a conference in Hay-on-Wye and wanted a B&B just for one night. I found The New Inn through booking.com and it looked really nice, just what we wanted and not far from Hay-on-Wye.

Daphne is lovely and we were amazed at what she has done with the property (an old pub).

If you hanker for something different from the usual hotel, B&B or guesthouse this could eb for you.

Breakfast wasn't the usual Full English which made a nice change. It would take a whole book to sum up all the features and niceties and I note that there are lots of other positive reviews other than to say try it. Outstanding countryside with great views. Go for it.

Room Tip: We had the Pink Room which afforded a view down the valley over the back garden area. I can't co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Thank You for the unique experience we had while spending our short holiday at The New Inn. All our needs were greatly catered for and the Host's personality, present in every object, gave us an opportunity for interesting conversations. Peace and tranquility of the place and its location is very nourishing. There is so much to discover that our staying left us hungry for more...
See you again
K&K

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Inn at Brilley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Inn at Brilley

Address: Brilley, Whitney-on-Wye HR3 6HE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Whitney-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Whitney-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“New Inn Brilley” Karma Dechen Choling is situated in a tiny village called Brilley on the hillside slopes of the Welsh borders. With stunning views on to the Black Mountains and the Brecon Beacons. A former rural Inn, the main house is adjoined by a self contained Suite sleeping 4. There also is a brand new Yurt sleeping 4-6. and a meditation hall.After your long day come to our Tea Room and relax by the old range…….You may not feel like going out to a restaurant, feel at home and try our favourite pasta, risotto or curry or just a hearty soup with vegetables from our garden. We also like to mention our generous happy hens with their contribution at breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your New Inn at Brilley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Inn At Brilley Whitney-On-Wye, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Inn at Brilley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.