We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Old Lodge Alverstoke” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Old Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
The Old Lodge Hotel
81 The Avenue | Alverstoke, Gosport PO12 2JX, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Gosport
gosport
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Old Lodge Alverstoke”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Having heard that The Old Lodge had reopened and giving them a little time to settle down my friend and I went to have light lunch. We were impressed by the quiet but delightful decor, The staff seemed very pleasant and helpful with the different menus ,, from sandwiches to small and larger size dishes ranging from £7 to £10 and even larger selection of steak and to my friend's delight mussels and a really good looking steak ( from next door table comments and pleasure) The dish with two ducks ' eggs ( perfectly cooked) ham excellent quality and good chips which my friend had to my dish of Macaroni Cheese again excellent full of flavour and not the usual unappertising plain macaroni looking dish again full of flavour which I could not finish really generous helping. At lat a really excellent capachino coffee and a very reasonable bill at the end of this not to mention a glass a good pleasant wine at the right temperature and a glass of sherry for my friend reasonable at £2.50 each and a twining tea made it a pleasure to go there. We would perhaps add that it was a shame to have the "Blowdrier " hand machine in a very clean and fresh Ladies Toilet We mentioned this and hoped that they would consider at least paper towels even pretty tea rooms in our area have small fannel size towels with a basket to put them in and we were told very firmly NO.This is a shame as for the way they have spent money to make it so charming it brings down the standard on a little but important addition in line with the standards. The other things was that the reception is the basis for the bar and there were several people waiting to pay their bill and order their drinks with a little more staff it would have been perfect for our first visit.I am sure they would have taken the money from our table but we wanted to leave soon after our coffee, as did other people.
There is space for several cars in the forecourt.and Alverstoke is a delightful village to wander round in reasonable weather and five minutes walk to the sea.
We have booked for 4 people tomorrow night for dinner and look forward to the menu obviously a chef who cares,has new ideas and enjoys cooking. Long may it continue.June M

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    23
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
21
22
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

My husband and I visited the Old Lodge Hotel as we had heard that it was reopening with new owners and were interested to find out what it was like. We went there for Sunday lunch and were pleased with the meals. We chose the 'if it' which was tasty soup for starters, then two beef roast dinners, which were very substantial and it was diificult for me to eat the whole meal. Disappointingly, I was unable to eat a dessert afterwards! The building has been renovated to a very high standard and the staff were very pleasant and accommodating. We will be visiting again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm D, Public Relations Manager at The Old Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hi Yvonne
Our sunday lunch is proving very successful and our chef's "if it" range is proving popular as the surprise of the day. Please visit us again soon, and leave enough room for one of our delicious desserts.
Regards
Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Visited the old lodge for the second time last night to have drinks with some friends. Started to feel a bit peckish, so i asked about food, to which i ordered the rump steak. This was without a doubt the best steak i've ever had!!! Asked for medium rare and it was cooked to perfection!! Full compliments to the chef!! It was so nice that i had another after!! Would really recommend the old lodge for everyone.The owner is very warm and welcoming and easy to approach and talk to. And the service is great!! Very kind. Top chef, top host!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm D, Public Relations Manager at The Old Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hi Coulbert
Thank you for the feedback(no pun intended). The steaks are a highlight of our varied menus and much appreciated by our clients. Our new confit of duck is well worth a try.
regards
Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

We had our office Christmas party at the old Lodge on the 8th December and all ten of us had a lovely meal. the staff were all very helpful and polite and the atmosphere was warm, friendly and festive. Between us, we sampled a variety of foods from the Christmas menu and all enjoyed what we had chosen. Considering this restaurant had only been open a few weeks, we were all pleasantly surprised how well it went. We look forward to visiting again soon!

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm D, Public Relations Manager at The Old Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hi Simon and thank you for your comments. Our Christmas menu has been met in the main very positively and has been enjoyed by many. Please visit us again soon.
Regards
Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

After looking forward to a meal I was very disappointed. Menu sounds great but the food served is not always as described on the menu and is not as fresh as stated on the menu. Very basic standard of food and resturant layout, grumpy customer service. Let's hope it improves!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm D, Public Relations Manager at The Old Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Hi D44
So sorry to read that you were disappointed with our service. I am assuming that this was your first visit, and yet your review states that the food is not always as advertised and the freshness also, which on the basis of one visit is a little hard to understand. You also don't actually mention what was wrong with either, which makes it hard for us to reply with any accuracy. We always welcome constructive criticism, because it helps us move forward and improve our customer relations, but to be useful they also need to be specific. I hope your next visit will be more rewarding for you.
Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

So a fresh start for the Old Lodge! This gorgeous old building has undergone a fantastic and well thought out makeover. The quality of finish is first class and makes for a very warm and welcoming atmosphere. The staff are hugely friendly and have quickly found their feet, hitting the ground running. Congrats to the chef, really GREAT food. This is just what Gosport needed. If you are a little further afield and fancy a trip then you must visit. You will not be disappointed! WELL DONE!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm D, Public Relations Manager at The Old Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Hi Chownsie
A fresh start indeed, and the key to success is in the kitchen, and our chef certainly has stepped up to the plate, as you have found out. Teething problems are inevitable, but the overwhelming response on Tripadvisor has been that the Old Lodge is indeed the premiere place to eat in this area. Welcome all!
Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

With my wife celebrating our wedding anniversay and my Birthday the hospitality was excellent, we were greeted warmly by the new owners, the atmosphere was pleasant and the new look is credit to the new owners, very tastefully decorated. The Lounge with the log burner was very welcome from the cold weather outside.

We were shown to our table, the restaurant staff were welcoming, polite and courteous. We chose from the Festive menu, our starters, main and desert were superb and I would highly recommend the slow roasted pork, I hope this will be on the menu all year round and not just on the festive menu.

Our meal was relaxed and unhurried a very nice way to complete our wedding anniversary together.

We hope to return soon with other family members & friends.

JJ - Gosport

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm D, Public Relations Manager at The Old Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Hi Jon
Congratulations on your Wedding Anniversary and thank you for sharing it with us. Our festive menu has brought many good comments, and I must admit that the pork is my favourite too!
(I adore crackling). Please come back soon
Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Lodge Hotel

Address: 81 The Avenue | Alverstoke, Gosport PO12 2JX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Gosport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Gosport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The old Lodge in the heart of Alverstoke village in Gosport, is a beautiful Georgian house upgraded to 11 delightful rooms, a restaurant and bar serving the local community as well as guests from far and wide. Currently undergoing extensive refurbishment following its acquisition by local new owner Michael Pearce, it is due to open around December 2012 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Hotel Gosport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.