We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Saffron” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saffron Indian Restaurant

Saffron Indian Restaurant
22 Stoke Road, Gosport, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 122 Restaurants in Gosport
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Portsmouth UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Super Saffron”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

It's a new year so we thought we would try a new restaurant in our local area of Gosport.
'Saffron' turned out to be a great choice! Great food, great service & very reasonably priced.
We will be using this as our local Indian restaurant from now on!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    6
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Indian in Gosport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Excellent value and very friendly staff who cannot do enough to help you. Highly recommend this little restaurant and a great curry house.

Big Stix

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Indian food I've had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My partner and I are huge fans of this restaurant - we first went there last year and we are slowly working our way through the menu. Nothing has disappointed.

Staff are fantastic, friendly, and professional, and the food is great. I'm a huge fan of their Chicken Naga. The restaurant itself is very comfortable and has a lovely atmosphere, and I love that they serve orange slices, liquer and after dinner mints at the end of the meal.

We have also ordered delivery through the Saffron website - very quick and easy with lots of deals.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good reccomendation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Not knowing the area we asked around for a good Indian Restaurant locally and this was mentioned. We gave it a try and was not dissapointed. The staff were very polite - not over the top but just right; and the food was lovely!! We took a deal where we got a starter, main course, rice or naan for just under £8 which was a good deal. It obviously came to a little more with drinks, poppadoms etc but it was a very reasonable price and very nice food. We will definately be going back there

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best Indian in gosport.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Had a few meals here now and the food is great, the curries are very very nice and cooked well.

We used to use Bengal across the road but have found this place is a lot nicer with much faster service, also me and the misses find the food here very tasty and is now the best Indian for us in gosport.

Good service, more space when eating in and great food.

This is the new number one curry house in gosport.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron Indian Restaurant also viewed

 
Gosport, Hampshire
 

Been to Saffron Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saffron Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.