We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old House at Home

The Old House at Home
Pirory Road | Upper Chute, Gosport, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 122 Restaurants in Gosport
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Gosport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Another great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Been here a few times and yet again the food was at such a good standard. We managed to get in before a party of ten so we got served fast. Two had the exmoor steak and one had a normal steak. All steaks cooked to perfection. Really impressed with this pub.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    10
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“great value and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I have lived in Gosport for 50 years and never gone to this pub/restaurant until last week. I took my 15 year old daughter for lunch to celebrate her birthday and it was a lovely experience. I had the omelette with chips and peas and the omelette was huge, it filled half the plate!! My daughter had a sandwich which came with chips and salad, the bread was fresh and thick sliced and my daughter said it was delicious. The whole lunch cost £12.50 with drinks and we both left nicely full and completely satisfied. We will definately be returning in the near future, I just wish I had visited this place a long time ago.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gosport,hampshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Having tried many pubs and restaurants in Gosport, my wife and I thought we would give ' The Old House at home' a try, and I must say, we were so glad we did. My wife had the Roast Beef sunday lunch, and I had the homemade burger. The portions were of good size, the beef being of good quality, and the burger was delicious and so obviously homemade. I would say give this pub a try, I think you will be pleasanly surprised.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gosport
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stopped here for lunch with my mum and daughter and was surprised at the extensive menu and quality of the food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Lost for words”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Third time visiting this very friendly pub. Service was great staff always smiling. I had steak with bree, chips and pea. My partner had the pork chops. My steak was cooked perfect, medium rare and the pork chops were done to perfection. We had a very good bottle of wine too. The prices were reasonable and we left with a big smile in our faces after having such a great meal. Not been disappointed three out of three visits so this place will be our first choice of choosing somewhere to eat in gosport. Thank you for making our night special.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old House at Home also viewed

 
Gosport, Hampshire
Gosport, Hampshire
 

Been to The Old House at Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old House at Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.