We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed lunch in the garden” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Peacock Inn

The Peacock Inn
37 The Street, Chelsworth, Bildeston IP7 7HU, England
01449 740758
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Bildeston
Price range: $10 - $40
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyed lunch in the garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We enjoyed Chelsworth, as it is a pretty unspoilt village close to Hadleigh and Lavenham. We arrived on a very hot day, were welcomed and given a table in the garden with a parasol. We enjoyed lunch and drinks, and it was an unspoilt village pub with friendly staff

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We came here and stayed Saturday night to meet up with our friends. The accommodation was delightful really cosy and quaint, The rooms if not a little small were really full of character and the bed was really comfortable. Breakfast was served by the friendly owners and the menu was comprehensive. The setting of the pub is picturesque with a pretty bridge across the road. We stayed for Sunday lunch which was very busy so I suggest people book, the beef was cooked to perfection and the pear and ginger pudding was very very tasty, served by very competent staff. The real ales are kept really well, we had Woodfords Wherry which we took to the delightful beer garden and relaxed in the Sunday sun, we will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavenham suffolk
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Real trad country pub with log fires”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Great atmosphere run by husband and wife team with very friendly staff

Great home cooking especially Sunday roasts

Nice to know these pubs still exist

ChEllsworth is a pretty village only a stones throw from lavenham

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Ushers Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Delicious food in an old fashioned pub. Friendly staff made it a pleasure.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Friendly and very welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

This was a lovely pub with lovely owners who went out of their way to make you feel welcome. There was a big open fire and the menu delicious well worth a stay here.a lot of war memorabilia with very knowledgable locals,we will Definatley return

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peacock Inn also viewed

 
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
 

Been to The Peacock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peacock Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.