We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown at Bildeston

The Crown at Bildeston
104 High Street | Bidleston, IPSWICH, Bildeston IP7 7EB, England
1449 740510
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Bildeston
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Suffolk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Always special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have visited The Bildeston Crown now for a number of years during various times i.e. when the restaurant has been full, half empty and indeed on one occasion when we were the only customers. The remarkable quality which the Crown has is it's ability to maintain standards, not only is the cuisine at the Crown- at least in our view- of a one star Michelin standard but it never disappoints, we live locally and have heard others make the same remark. I do not make as many reviews here as perhaps I should but having read the review of "Morgana" I felt compelled to give an alternative opinion . As to appalling service all I can say is not on the maître d'hôtel's watch! Isszie is a charming and efficient young lady who demands superb standards. In this part of Suffolk we are fortunate in having a number of great restaurants the Great House in Lavenham for example is one which we also patronize. In my view the Crown has the slight edge.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    30
    19
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great for Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here a few times and returned this month for Sunday lunch. The Crown is decorated to a very high standard and the cosy bar/restaurant has a Farrow & Ballsed up country pub-with-pretensions feel. They are obviously trying very hard with the food. We had two very good starters: smoked salmon with a host of cheffy trimmings and a duck dish which came in a transparent cloche full of smoke. Heston Blumenthal has a lot to answer for. Roast beef is done in the traditional way (red poll, very flavoursome) but the Yorkshire pudding is a bit tasteless and overly dry. I had guinea fowl with chestnuts and sprouts (underdone); the guinea fowl was nicely succulent and came with a croquette of its wing meat. Presentation on the plate is first class, the cooking a close second. Desserts are generally terrific: we had a very rich banofee trifle in a glass and a pear spring roll with panna cotta which was superb. Three courses, two glasses of wine and a bottle of sparkling water came to £60. Coffee machine was broken and they charge £2 for petit fours, which I think is a bit off. Vegetarian options are offered and always sound interesting. Service is good, there can be a bit of dithering, but nothing that would bother anyone with normal non-stockbroker patience thresholds.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Above and beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This place had been recommended to us as we recently moved into the area - and it didn't disappoint. We called in for Sunday lunch but were told they had stopped serving lunch but we could have a cream tea; then the young man said he would check with chef to see if he'd be prepared to do us a late lunch. He was. And a delicious roast it was too (I was dreading it to be a bit dry by then - not so). Definitely above and beyond expectations and we will most certainly be regulars there from now on. Prices are above the average but 'you gets what you pay for'.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Terrible, bumbling service - and not very good food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We've eaten here a year before whilst visiting relatives in Suffolk, and looked forward to returning over Christmas. What a disappointment - a huge drop in the quality of the food AND the service was appalling!
We were shown to our table, given the menu, ordered our drinks, and then a young waiter came along with a board with 3 different rolls on it. He told us what each roll was (olive, cheese etc) and left. We were literally about to reach out to choose one when another chap came past (pretty sure he was either the head waiter or owner) and swept the board and rolls off our table saying it wasn't for us. He disappeared around the corner with our rolls leaving us speechless! What on earth was that all about?
Waited another 10 minutes before we got our own rolls and in that time we were approached THREE times by another young waiter with cutlery we didn't need - again our table seemed to be mixed up with another one round the corner (where our rolls went no doubt!). Cutlery was being put down and taken up again like some sort of party game.
The food just wasn't very good. My husband's cauiflower soup was barely warm and could be eaten in 6 spoonfuls. My tomato gnocchi was dull and tasteless.
My main course was roast beef with the usual trimmings. The Yorkshire pudding was large but unlike any Yorkshire pudding I'd ever eaten. It was so crisp it could be snapped, at which point it crumbled away. Horrible. The beef was plentiful, but the veg luke warm.
My husband's attempts to get a coffee failed miserably. He ordered a latte but was then told the coffee machine had broken. So he said he'd like an Americano. Ten minutes later he was told that they couldn't do this either. So he said he'd settle for a filter coffee. Another 10 minutes wait (20 mins since the first order) and we'd had enough. Decided we'd pay the bill and go, at which point the filter coffee arrived at long last. Politely told the waiter that we'd given up!
The chap who had so rudely snatched the rolls off our table then came up to us and said he'd take the coffee (which we'd never even had) and the petit fours (£2) off our bill.
We weren't looking for a cheaper bill, just a nice meal served well with good service. Unfortunately we didn't get this and left feeling very disappointed. The Crown is a beautiful building in a lovely village - maybe we just struck an off evening but we are not inclined to return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds
1 review
“Best dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We ate in the new Ingrams restaurant. The food and service was fantastic, the best we have experienced in Suffolk. We would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone and have booked New Years Eve there, we can't wait to go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown at Bildeston also viewed

 
Newmarket, Suffolk
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
 

Been to The Crown at Bildeston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown at Bildeston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.