We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect bistro atmosphere and wonderful food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A slice of lyme

A slice of lyme
1-2 Rolle Street, Budleigh Salterton, England
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Eclectic, International, Bistro, Family Fare
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Padstow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect bistro atmosphere and wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were looking for a small friendly restaurant to celebrate my birthday and this was perfect, Great service - even when tables filled up - excellent food. We shared a starter of garlic bread which was perfect fresh french bread. And followed with ribeye steaks, perfectly cooked. we'll be visiting regularly when we are in the area. A great find.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    46
    6
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, Kent UK
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I had an excellent meal in this small restaurant in Budleigh Salterton. We shared a starter of avocado and crayfish which was delicious. My husband had chicken from the special menu and I had the local caught sole. Both were excellent. Service from the young lady at front of house was great. We enjoyed the meal so much we're going back again this evening.
Thank you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A quick rest stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was our mid walk refreshment stop. I can't comment on main meals as we only had cake and coffee - but all 4 of us agreed the carrot cake was the best we had ever tasted! I can't comment on the service either as we were the only ones in the place apart from one elderly couple.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budleigh Salterton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Consistenly great food & friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We have eaten here countless times over the last seven years and it's the restaurant where we always take friends & relatives. It has a first class reputation & during the summer season you need to book to get a table.It is not a fast food reastaurant and all food is freshly prepared & cooked for you. There is fresh fish and daily specials, in fact something to suit most budgets.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Top of the range food in it's class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We almost passed this establishment by because it looks like a typical seaside eaterie offering standard fare and complete with an ice cream sales window. It was not until we viewed the evening specials board that we realised that there was some good food available in the evenings, including some South African influenced dishes. We booked a table for 8 pm and when we returned it was absolutely full. Unfortunately staff levels were tight but the waiter advised us of this at the outset and settled us down with some drinks and bread. The fresh fish on offer was superb. All the food we had was well presented and cooked to perfection. Prices were exceptionally reasonable and in a classier establishment would probably have cost at least 50% more. Despite being very busy the waiter was absolutely charming and kept us posted on the delay situation. Whilst the fixtures and fittings are getting a little tired everything else about this restaurant is good and we will use it again when we are next in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A slice of lyme also viewed

 
Budleigh Salterton, Devon
Budleigh Salterton, Devon
 

Been to A slice of lyme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A slice of lyme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.