We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and lovely warm service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Cafe

Premier Cafe
7 Chapel Street, Budleigh Salterton EX9 6Lx, England
+44 1395 442962
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $11 - $21
Cuisines: Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Fish cafe serving local fish as well as award-winning fish and chips.Also has non- fish and veterinarian options and is licences. Along side the restaurant is a busy fish and chip take-away
Exmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food and lovely warm service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I took two friends here before Christmas and had a lovely relaxed meal. The quality of the food is top notch as is the warm welcome and service. Our meal wasn't rushed as the locally sourced food was cooked fresh to order. The young girls serving were cheerful, polite and efficient and all in all we had a lovely evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    31
    10
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chips I've eaten!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were looking for a birthday treat and a meal out. Went to the Premier Cafe and what can I say...absolutely fantastic.

A good old British Fish and Chip shop, fantastic food and wonderful staff. Cannot recommend highly enough. Go and try the food on offer, you won't regret it.

Book in advance if you can, its get busy!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great meal, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were in on a quiet night, just before closing. And they couldn’t be more obliging. Delicious fish ‘n’ chips and great drinks list to choose from (local cider etc). Just as we were paying the bill a call came in from someone who didn’t know what time they closed. The caller was told ‘We’re just closing now but tell us what you want, we’ll cook it for you and you can come and pick it up.’ Now that’s what I call service!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Huge Selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

A huge selection of fish. Clean. Friendly staff. Low price.
Can't believe I heard someone complain that she had too much batter on her fish!
If you want something quick, filling and cheap this is the place to go

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blissetts, Owner at Premier Cafe, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Patrick,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad you enjoyed your meal
Simon Blissett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otterton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Rude, overpriced and slow!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I visited Budleigh Salterton earlier this year and was very disappointed, the staff were very rude. They got our order wrong and said it was our fault for not being clear (fish and chips twice). The chips were over done although there were plenty. The fish was fresh and tasted lovely. It took 25 minutes to get served and was very expensive.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blissetts, Owner at Premier Cafe, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write your review, Naturally we are disappointed with your experience. The fact that you visited in August and have written your review in December makes it impossible for me to discuss the situation with staff and find out what happened but rest assured that I find the situation unacceptable.
Should you visit again, please make yourself known to the shift manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Premier Cafe also viewed

Budleigh Salterton, Devon
Budleigh Salterton, Devon
 
Budleigh Salterton, Devon
Budleigh Salterton, Devon
 

Been to Premier Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.