We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, relaxing place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Syon House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Syon House Hotel to your Saves list
Syon House Hotel
East Budleigh, Budleigh Salterton EX9 7DP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great, relaxing place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Beautiful building with an lovely lounge and dining room in which you are invited by Claire to make yourself at home. The Views from the reception rooms and all the bedrooms are to die for - over spectacular countryside. The bedrooms and bathrooms are well appointed, decorated individually and very comfortable. The house decor is stylish and very pleasing. Breakfast at the communal table was excellent and the food freshly cooked. All in all a wonderful place to relax for a short break with easy access to Exmouth, Budleigh Salterton and Sidmouth.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
42
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Delightful spot with wonderful views. Our room was extremely comfortable and pleasing on the eye. Claire has gone to a lot of trouble with the decor and we liked her style. Breakfast was delicious, plentiful and seated at a communal table a very friendly affair; we would like to see more places with a large table for guests to dine together. Lovely break, good people and we would return if in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

What a wonderful find, a luxury B&B where the owner says make yourself at home and genuinely means it. A wonderful lounge and dining room is available for use with exquisite furnishings from all over the world giving it a very cosmopolitan feel. The views are simply stunning and we were actually blessed with good weather so were able to spend some time in the garden. The room was everything you would expect with a fully stocked bathroom, comfortable bed and the usual facilities. The breakfast/s were wonderful the full English is simply to die for (in more ways than one I suspect!) We'll visit again and fully intend to try the owners other property in Tiverton.

Room Tip: They all looked perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Our room was fine- bed was comfortable and once the cockatoos had settled down for the night (which wasn't late or anything) we had a restful sleep. There was a handy little sofa in the room and pleasent views out of the window. Our bathroom, similarly, was clean and functional, although surprisingly hard for 2 people to shower together despite the massive cubicle. As for the 'huge, fluffy towels', I can only guess that the washing machine and tumble dryer were on the blink- our towels were normal size and distinctly unfluffy. Maybe its an energy-saving measure.
Claire was welcoming and helpful in giving us directions to a great place for supper (5 miles down the road- @ the Halfway Inn). The star of breakfast was the home-mixed muesli, which was great.
The rest of the house felt like a work in progress- outside was being dug up, inside were unfitted carpets and we weren't made to feel welcome to relax in the surroundings at all. Perhaps its just our tastes, but the restoration was only sympathetic in places- a beatiful stripped bannister rail, and lovely original doors but a place crying out for fab chandeliers was fitted with downlights all over. The free WiFi is great, but gave us the chance to check the Sir Walter Raleigh birthplace assertion which was a fact we were unable to verify (according to a number of sources we found, he was born about a mile away in Hayes Barton)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheathampstead
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We spent a lovely weekend in this fabulouse B and B. Claire the host was attentive, very friendly and helpful. Room was gorgeous, views fab, and breakfast delicious. There is a lovely lounge area to chill out in, and lovely communal dining room, with breakfast round one very large table - very sociable. Thank you

Room Tip: We chose deluxe which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

With an early client meeting in Exmouth, we decided to stay at Syon House (even though B&B is mot normally our thing) after reading the reviews - we were not disappointed. Welcomed by the lovely Rosie accompanied by two dogs and Baby (the mccaw) our room - refreshingly without a number on the door - was exceedingly comfortable, complete with glass walled ensuite. The only slight comment would be that the rubber nozzles in the overhead shower head (as distinct from the waist high nozzles) should be regularly manipulated to get rid of the calcium buildup. The room was clean and quiet with great views over open country. Finest quality cotton bedding and towels were very welcome after a long day which started at 0700. Dinner was not available so we eat out being given a door code for our return, ghe is no night porter. The house is fabulously furnished and decorated with great style and elan, every possible guest need has already been anticipated. Breakfast, taken in the conservatory -a wonderfully light space - was typical country house - the choice vast and all of the highest quality, hot food cooked to perfection. The breakfast table was communal but we were the only guests in any case.

Regular readers of my reviews will remember that as an ex hotel manager I find it difficult to award full marks - Syon House comes pretty close with the exception of the shower head and the two dogs waking me up at 0700!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed at Syon House for the second week of our honeymoon and we had such a wonderful time at Syon House that we didn't want to go home! We had stayed at the Hartnoll Hotel before so we knew the standard that Claire set and we were not disappointed. We had a lovely comfortable room with views over the countryside that could be described as Tuscan and the views from the tearrace where we had our breakfast on hot sunny mornings were sublime. The breakfast was beautifully prepared and served and one could not ask for more.

We were keen to have a quiet relaxing break after our wedding and Syon House was the perfect venue for us. The nearby towns of Budleigh Salterton, Sidmouth and the city of Exeter are quickly reached and the nearby Otterton Mill offers fantastic musical or theatre evenings on a Thursday night.

All in all we had a fabulous time and will return again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Syon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Syon House Hotel

Address: East Budleigh, Budleigh Salterton EX9 7DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Budleigh Salterton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Budleigh Salterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Syon Houe is a sympathetically restore Georgian house situated on a plateau on the edge of the picturesque village of East Budleigh near the coast in East Devon. It has unrivaled views down the Otter valley with distant sea views over Lyme Bay and Budleigh Salterton. It's 6 luxury bedrooms are all ensuite with the best quality bed linen and towels, toiletries and hot drink facilities. Syon is just 10 miles from the centre of Exeter and 8 miles from the M5. There are three beautiful golf courses within a few miles, Budleigh, Sidmouth and Woodbury Salterton. A set gourmet dinner is available as is tea. Pets are welcome at the owners disretion. Woodbury Common and the Otter valley is renowned for walking and bird watching. There are many attrations and beautiful shopping centres within close proximinity, namely, Sidmouth, Budleigh Salterton, Honiton, Exeter and Exmouth. Sandy Park conference centre is 8 miles and Bicton Arena is 1 mile ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Syon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Syon House Hotel Budleigh Salterton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Syon House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.