We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ladram Bay Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Budleigh Salterton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ladram Bay Holiday Park
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Otterton, Budleigh Salterton EX9 7BX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Me and my family used to stay in a friends static caravan for holidays. The caravan park is very nice and the staff are friendly. The site had a beach literally 2 mins from my static! The cliffs that drop down on to the beach are fenced off but still VERY VERY STEEP. One time i was there a JCB Digger caused a small landslide! The site has an indoor pool, clubhouse, a bar and a restauraunt. They also have an arcade. As you come through the gate you are required to have a sticker on your car. You see once you get in, a crazy gold course. The park at the far end of the campsite includes monkey bars, an assault course, swings, and the best: Zipwire! All in all this caravan park is one hundred out of ten. You must visit!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    97
    26
    8
    7
See reviews for
239
34
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

First let me start with the pro's . The park has a lovely view if your lucky enough to get a pitch which shows it, otherwise you are just looking at other caravans. The toilet block is in pristine condition and with the censored showers this was the highlight of our kids stay.. Now the cons,
After reading so many amazing reviews we were really excited to be going to a well sought after holiday park. Unfortunatly it was not to be, after phoning 4 times to check on certain things i was told that the drive to the bay was fairly easy even if you have a 27 foot caravan, this was not the case the road is awful and was very narrow in some places so please be aware of this. The other thing is The ridges this is where the tourers are pitched , I was told it was a slight incline well it was like climbing the Malvern hills everytime we wanted to go to the shop, clubhouse or the beach it was a real ordeal even the shower block is two ridges down, the rubbish tip was outside reception which was about as far as it could get from our pitch. I don't mind hiking anywhere and quite enjoy walking but there is no getting away from this. The pitches are very close together and all in all I think that touring park is an afterthought. The clubhouse is not great the entertainment is ok. We did not eat in the restaurant as when my husband went to the bathroom a member of the staff went to the toilet and left without washing his hands so that put him off the food. The park is so busy that the kids had to queue for every park activity and I felt that the children were just left to run wild in certain areas of the park and I was not happy leaving them on there own. I did not see much security outside where the kids were playing till late at night. As long as the adults were putting money behind the bar it didn't matter. Also after paying nearly £400 for the holiday I was shocked to find out that you had to pay extra for the pool. I have never had to do this before and with five of us it worked out quite expensive. It was quiet at night but then nobody could be bothered to walk up the hill to make any noise. Not a bad site if you like big commercial parks but if you want a place where the kids can play safely while you have a relax on the side don't pick here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LadramBay1, Manager at Ladram Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about the park. I’m pleased to hear you were impressed with the new shower block and the views, as the front row pitches are highly sought after they are classed as a premium pitch. With regards to your other comments I would like to apologise for the experience you felt you had. Depending on the route taken to the park you can avoid narrow roads, other than a few hundred meters before you arrive at the park. Please also be assured that the touring section of the park is given a great deal of consideration, including the new shower block that was built this winter. I would like to apologise for the experience your husband had in the Restaurant, your comments have been passed onto the department manager who will take the appropriate action. Unfortunately we cannot be held responsible for the behaviour of other children and there are a number of signs throughout the complex to inform parents they should be supervising their children at all times, we also have a number of security patrolling the area throughout the evening to ensure their behaviour is of an acceptable manor. With regards to the swimming pool tickets the pricing we have in place does not reflect the pool as not all touring customers wish to use this facility.

Again I am very sorry to hear of your experience during your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed in Budleigh 3 caravan for one week...

Negatives
No linen on arrival
Caravan could of been cleaner - greasy kitchen handles, grubby floor
Light bulbs not working in bedroom 3 out of 5 - did report but nothing happened
Swimming Pool - poor and changing rooms filthy, only went once - in serious need of upgrade

Positives
Great location
Fantastic bay with boats, rock pools - great place to relax
Fantastic family holiday location
Site very well looked after
Crazy golf was great - well maintained
On site shop well stocked

The Scottish lady on security (sorry dont know her name....) was very welcoming and a great ambassador for this site. We would return to Ladram Bay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LadramBay1, Manager at Ladram Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank for your feedback regarding your recent stay. It’s great to hear that enjoyed aspects of the park, especially the location and our private bay. Keeping the park clean and well maintained is something we work hard towards and it’s pleasing to know it has been noticed. I will pass your comments onto Karen on the gate.

It is very difficult in the change-over timescale to provide each unit with linen which is one reason why we ask the majority of customers to collect their own. Linen collection is also for environmental reasons so that we only provide what is needed to try and reduce unnecessary water and energy usage. I am sorry that you felt the caravan could have been cleaner, this is something that we pride ourselves on but unfortunately it seems we did not meet the usual standards on this occasion. The bulbs required not being replaced again is something that doesn’t usually happen. I would also like to apologise for the condition in which you found the changing rooms. Please be aware all of your comments have been passed onto the relevant managers to action.

It’s great to hear that would return to Ladram Bay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was our first time at Ladram Bay Holiday Park and we stayed in a Diamond 3 caravan with a hot tub and were worth every penny.
Our Party Consisted of Myself, my wife, 5 children aged 18, 12, 11, 9 and 5 and my eldest daughters boyfriend, and although there was eight of us there was loads of room.
The on-site facilities were amazing including the indoor pool (which was a god send on the rainy days) to the Three Rocks Restaurant. All in all we had such an amazing time at check-out we booked for next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was our 10th visit to Ladram Bay and was again a total success. Our three children adore the site, its facilities and the entertainment provided by the 'Greencoat team'. The site is situated in a beautiful location with stunning views. The front row caravans, although one of the more expensive, are situated in a great and safe location. The children are able to amuse themselves on the playing field without the fear of traffic or any roads to cross. All have decking with beautiful, panoramic views of the Jurassic coast line and full view of the playing field where you can keep a watchful eye on the children whilst relaxing on the balcony furniture.

The staff, from reception to entertainments team are extremely helpful and really cannot do enough for you. Our children adore the Green Coats who have the patients of Saints. Another very brilliant holiday had by all and we look forward to the next one!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

After spending a week at Ladram Bay the kids are now exhausted - brilliant kids club and plenty to keep them busy! The majority of staff members are a credit to the park as we got treated with such warmth - especially Emma at reception!
The kids loved going to Ozzies Den and the arcade was good (we won on the claw machine!) All round it is a safe and fun park for young kids! The night entertainment was good for a holiday park and the security was good, it's not often you feel comfortable letting the kids go off on their own! The kids also loved both Crealy and Bicton although expensive we ad good days out!
This brings me onto the swimming pool, it was clean and good for the kids although a slide would of been nice however 'fun time' was a good alternative! One specific male lifeguard was rude and clearly did not want to be there - head in hands looking at the floor and picking toe nails?! Not a great start! However another lifeguard on duty (Abby) was incredible, not only did she interact with the children but created a very positive and friendly atmosphere. She made the 'Water Walkerz' fun for my eldest and was willing to talk/wave to both myself and the kids even when she was on lunch.
We stayed in a basic caravan which was clean and suprisingly spacious, really good value for money. Only improvement would be comfier beds!!!! Although being waken up by seagulls wasn't ideal we never found them aggressive or too much of a nuisance!
The restaurant was good value for quality food and the shop was well stocked, something that not many parks do well! Over all we had a great holiday and I'm sure we will return!

Room Tip: No gym but good swimming pool and coastal paths to jog/walk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a week at Ladram Bay, the scenery is beautiful. We couldn't ask for better caravans, plenty of room with every amenity on site. Just a short drive or country walk away from Sidmouth where we thoroughly enjoyed folk week for a more busier atmosphere. Highly recommend to all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ladram Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ladram Bay Holiday Park

Address: Otterton, Budleigh Salterton EX9 7BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Budleigh Salterton
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Budleigh Salterton
Hotel Class:4 star — Ladram Bay Holiday Park 4*
Also Known As:
Ladram Bay Holiday Park Hotel Budleigh Salterton
Ladram Bay Holiday Park Budleigh Salterton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ladram Bay Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ladram Bay Holiday Park to your Saves list