We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is such an excellent B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pebbles Bed and Breakfast by the Beach

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Budleigh Salterton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pebbles Bed and Breakfast by the Beach
Save
You added Pebbles Bed and Breakfast by the Beach to your Saves list
16 Fore St, Budleigh Salterton EX9 6NG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Bromley, Kent UK
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
“This is such an excellent B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was our second stay and it was better than the first one and that was hard to top! We had five nights this time and we stayed in the Lighthouse room again with lovely views of the beach. Rosemary and Humfrey were amazing hosts and good fun. Breakfast is amazing, everything is so fresh and tasty. It sets you up for the day ahead. Sadly they are retiring from Pebbles but a couple who have stayed there before are taking over in February. We have already book for October next year. Hopefully it won't have changed under the new people.
Thanks very much, Rosemary and Hunfrey, and we wish you all the best for the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
94
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Pebbles bed and breakfast is right in the town but when you get inside it s like another world! Beautifully furnished, peaceful atmosphere, very large bedroom with enclosed balcony and stunning views of the sea. King size luxurious and comfy bed. Homemade cake, a wonderful breakfast and a homemade gift in the room instead of packet biscuits. A bit more than we would normally spend but worth every penny.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed 4 nights at Pebbles, and it was delightful. We had The Lighthouse Room which was extremely comfortable and with a lovely view of the beach and sea. It was very peaceful sitting in the rooms's conservatory watching the sea.Humphrey and Rosemary were very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were very nice with an excellent choice. We had a very enjoyable stay, and would highly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport -Trefdraeth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed here with my partner and my son. We had the Sail Loft and Beach Hut. Both gorgeous rooms, the decor was stunning and I kept saying I wanted my own room to look just the same!!!!
We had delicious tea and cake on arrival. Perfect!
Breakfast was also delicious and really good menu choices, we were really impressed.
The beach is literally at the end of the garden and is such a beautiful place that we didn't want to leave! Shame we could only stay 1 night!!!
Will definitely be going back.
Thank you!!!
X

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My large well appointed room had the most comfortable bed and duvet, an ensuite bathroom and all the little touches that oozed quality and care. It had a conservatory-type extension and overlooked right onto the beautiful gardens and the beach. Rosemary and Humfrey are great hosts and they deserve all the 5 Star ratings that they receive. I've travelled around the World and when you combine good weather with this location and a quality B&B, Britain cannot be bettered. Is there anything that the new hosts can improve on for next year? Yes - I think the conservatory area which covers the seafront bedrooms needs a proper partition wall rather than a thick curtain - if that was done then Pebbles would be worth 6 Stars.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Lighthouse has an ensuite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne, California
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Really can't add more to all the other stellar reviews already here. Outstanding B and B, obviously the innkeepers put their heart and soul into this. Not to mention their backs, they carried my extremely heavy suitcase up and down those 2 flights of stairs! We stayed on the top floor, in the sail loft, it was so clean, everything seemed new, beautiful crisp linens and a wonderful view. Left windows open to hear the sound of the waves on the beach. BS is a lovely little sea town - quite different from our home (southern California). Great visit!

Room Tip: Don't let the bathroom not being en suite dissuade you, it is steps from the bedroom door. I do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

An extremely welcoming, relaxing and comfortable place to stay with lovely hosts and delicious food. Our room which was at the top of the house looking out to sea was beautifully presented and extremely comfortable. We weren't surprised to find out at breakfast that the other guests, who had all been before, had booked for 3 or more nights we just wished we had too.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pebbles Bed and Breakfast by the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pebbles Bed and Breakfast by the Beach

Address: 16 Fore St, Budleigh Salterton EX9 6NG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Budleigh Salterton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Budleigh Salterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BED AND BREAKFAST BY THE BEACH!! Set just a few feet from the famous beach at Budleigh Salterton with panoramic East Devon sea and coastal views from each of the bedrooms. Lulled to sleep by the sound of the sea, stunning sea views while eating your breakfast, Pebbles really is 'Bed and Breakfast by the Beach!' ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pebbles b&b By The Beach
Pebbles Bed And Breakfast By The Beach Hotel Budleigh Salterton
Pebbles Bed And Breakfast By The Beach Budleigh Salterton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pebbles Bed and Breakfast by the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.